Desserts

Easy Strawberry Cake

To celebrate Memorial Day weekend, I’m sharing one of my favorite summer dessert recipes — Smitten Kitchen‘s Strawberry Summer Cake. My Facebook friends may remember pictures of this from my food album that was the precursor to this blog. I first made this last spring, and it’s now a favorite in our home. It combines two of my favorite foods (cake and strawberries!), requires only a few ingredients, and is very simple to make, so much so that I would encourage those of you who are usually nervous about baking to try your hand at this.

The cake is moist and has a great vanilla flavor without being too overwhelming or sweet, and the strawberries become a little jam-like during the baking process. They lend a little tartness to the cake, too. While strawberries are in season, run to your nearest farmer’s market or grocery store and grab some so you can make this cake! 🙂

Smitten Kitchen’s Strawberry Summer Cake

Makes one 9- or 10-inch cake

Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus extra for pie plate
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 1%)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 pound (conveniently, that’s one 16-ounce clamshell) strawberries, rinsed, hulled and halved
  • One 9″ deep dish or 10″ pie plate.

Please note that if you use a regular 9″ pie plate, the batter will overflow while baking. If your pie plate is 9″, make sure it’s a deep dish plate, which is usually two inches deep. I used my prized Emile Henry 9″ deep dish plate, given to us as a wedding gift by a dear friend almost eight years ago now.

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease the pie plate with a little butter and set aside. In a small bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt together.

In a larger bowl, beat butter and one cup of the sugar with an electric mixer (handheld is fine) until the mixture is pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Mix in the egg, milk and vanilla until just combined. Slowly add the dry mixture, mixing until just smooth.

Pour the batter into the prepared pie plate.

Arrange strawberries, cut side down, on top of the batter, as closely as possible in a single layer, overlapping if necessary.

Sprinkle the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar over berries.

Bake the cake for 10 minutes, then reduce the oven temperature to 325°F and bake until golden brown, and a fork inserted into the center of the cake comes out free of wet batter, about 50 minutes to 60 minutes. It took me 60 minutes after lowering the temperature. Please note that the strawberries will always stick to the fork; that’s fine, you just don’t want wet batter on there.

Remove the cake from the oven and let it cool on a rack.

If desired, serve with lightly whipped cream or some powdered sugar on top.

Enjoy your slice of summer!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

37 thoughts on “Easy Strawberry Cake

  1. Can’t wait to make it!

    Posted by Sandra | May 25, 2012, 2:48 pm
  2. This looks very yummy! I was asked to bring fruit salad or dessert to a get-together on Sunday…I think this will do very nicely 🙂

    Posted by Shelly | May 25, 2012, 2:59 pm
  3. I have a bucket of strawberries from my garden in the fridge. Must try this over the weekend! 🙂

    Posted by Tina | May 25, 2012, 5:18 pm
  4. I love that there are REAL strawberries in this strawberry cake! It looks amazing!

    Posted by Brittany | May 25, 2012, 6:51 pm
  5. Looks yummy, can’t wait to make it! Thanks for sharing your hard work!

    Posted by Kimberly | May 26, 2012, 8:10 am
  6. This really looks good. Strawberry season hasn’t yet started here but when it does I may just make this cake. Thanks!

    Posted by Mary | May 26, 2012, 8:37 am
  7. This looks delicious, think I’ll give it a go asap!

    Posted by Candy | May 26, 2012, 12:00 pm
  8. any suggestions on how to make this work for those of us who sadly only have an ordinary 9 inch pan?

    Posted by Michelle | May 26, 2012, 8:16 pm
    • Yes! Either just use a small cake pan (like an 8″ square brownie pan or a round cake pan) or just pour less batter into the 9″ pie pan. If you do the latter, I’d just pour a little more than 3/4 of the batter into the pan, and start testing the cake for done ness around 40 minutes total time (so start checking 30 minutes after reducing the temp).

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 26, 2012, 10:25 pm
      • I used an 8 inch pyrex pan, which was kind of deep, and worked well. really tasty. I too am a fan of Smitten Kitchen’s recipes.

        Posted by Michelle | June 1, 2012, 4:26 pm
      • Yay!!!! I want to be Smitten Kitchen when I grow up 😉

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | June 1, 2012, 6:57 pm
  9. So I have a bunch of cut up frozen strawberries from last years crop. Do you think I could use those in this cake?

    Posted by Kelley Schalo | May 30, 2012, 5:25 pm
  10. Kelley, I don’t see why not! They’re gonna get baked and mushy, anyway! 🙂

    Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 30, 2012, 5:44 pm
  11. Have you ever tried putting other berries in along with the strawberries or just using a different berry all together? I love blackberries and I’m wondering how it would be?

    Posted by Shelly | June 1, 2012, 4:32 pm
    • Shelly, I haven’t, but I think that’d work well! It’s just a basic cake, after all, so I think any berry would work. Might need to sprinkle more sugar on blackberries but that’s about it! Let me know how it turns out!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | June 1, 2012, 6:59 pm
  12. So I tried to make this again today since my sis was visiting. This time for some strange reason, the cake batter was very thick, and the cake ended up very dry… I have no idea why. I checked and double checked, I did not forget any ingredients…. no clue what might have happened. 😦

    Posted by Tina | June 2, 2012, 8:17 pm
    • Hmm!!!! Was your butter completely soft when you started? How about the egg, was it at a colder temp than last time? I find that when my butter or eggs are not completely at room temp, it really affects the final product. That’s all I can think of, other than perhaps a mismeasurement of one of the ingredients! Sorry it didn’t work this time! Coincidentally, I also made this today 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | June 3, 2012, 5:15 pm
  13. Thank you. I had a bunch of strawberries and this was truly the easiest recipe i found out there. Everyone loved it.

    Posted by Oxana | June 25, 2012, 12:16 pm
  14. Yum! I used an 8 inch Pyrex and put the extra in a smaller pyrex for a mini cake. It worked out well that way. I’d say it took 40 minutes after turning down the oven.

    Posted by finleykate | June 14, 2013, 7:16 pm
  15. I’m going to try this for valentine’s day. I’m thinking about adding some chocolate morsels. Do you think they will work? Thanks for the recipe can’t wait to share with my honey :-)!

    Posted by Lisa | February 13, 2014, 3:11 pm
  16. made this tonight and it was awesome! thank you 🙂

    Posted by Kasia | March 26, 2014, 5:14 pm
  17. Made this last week with fresh strawberries. Yummy and easy.

    Posted by Valerie | June 20, 2014, 3:10 pm
  18. I’m Renata and I love to bake ! I just put this recipie in the oven. Can’t wait to dig in ! Thanks everyone for all your comments. I’ll let you know how it turned out. The only thing I didn’t do was use a room temperature egg? Will be interesting to see if that has any effect. Cheers !

    Posted by Renata | September 24, 2015, 3:59 pm
  19. I made plum cake with Italian plum,delicious,Sorry I can’t post pictures of my cake….

    Posted by Bozena | September 9, 2017, 12:51 pm
  20. This isn’t your recipe. It is a direct copy of Smitten Kitchen’s Strawberry Summer Cake

    Posted by Catherine McConnell | June 13, 2020, 4:19 pm
  21. If I want to use a 9×13 pan what would I need to increase?

    Posted by Cheryl Atkinson | June 14, 2020, 11:36 am
  22. My name is Barb and am a diabetic. Would Stevia work for the sugar? Also, do you have a carbohydrate count for this recipe?

    Posted by Barbara E. Miller | January 14, 2021, 1:34 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Fresh and Sweet Strawberry Desserts | Sweet City Desserts - February 24, 2014

Leave a comment

Saucy Mommy