Appetizers and Sides, Meals

Adorable BLTs

It was so hot yesterday that I wanted to keep dinner as simple as possible, so I turned to an idea that I first saw in The Lunch Box a few months ago: bacon and lettuce sandwich quarters threaded on skewers, separated by cherry tomatoes, for the cutest BLT presentation ever.

Jack helped me make these, and they went over so well with the kids (and with Johnny) that I know I’ll be making these again. These would also be great in a lunch box or as appetizers for a summer party.

To make, simply fry up some bacon (I used 2-3 slices for each full-sized sandwich) and let it drain on a paper towel-lined plate. Toast two slices of bread for each sandwich, spread mayo on the bread, then layer the bacon and lettuce between the bread. Cut the bread into four quarters — either into four triangles if you cut on the diagonals, or four little squares if you cut lengthwise and width-wise — then thread the quarters onto skewers, alternating with cherry tomatoes. I cut standard bamboo skewers in half with my kitchen shears because I felt that the skewers were too long otherwise; if you do this, you can fit two sandwich quarters onto each. For the kids, I also snipped the tips off of the skewers.

Enjoy!

 

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “Adorable BLTs

  1. I can vouch for the deliciousness of these. Yum!

    Posted by Lucky Hubby | May 23, 2012, 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

