Desserts, Snacks

Fresh Fruit Ice Pops

The weather’s warming up, which means it’s time for all sorts of fun, yummy summertime treats. I broke out my popsicle mold today to make these juice and fresh fruit ice pops that I first saw on Pinterest last year.

These were a HIT with the boys! Jack actually said, “Please make these juice pops every day, Mommy.” They’re super easy to make (slice fruit, put into mold, pour in juice, freeze), are only a few calories per pop, and fool kids into thinking they’re getting a decadent treat when, in fact, they’re just having some frozen fruit encased in a tiny bit of juice. I think most adults would find these pops a bit boring, but they can be a refreshing way to get some fruit on those hot, sweltering days.

Fresh Fruit Ice Pops

Ingredients

  • Any fruit of your liking, thinly sliced
  • Any juice, preferably clear (like apple or white grape)
  • Popsicle mold

Instructions

Fill popsicle mold loosely with sliced fruit. I used strawberries, watermelon and oranges.

Pour juice up to the max fill line.

Insert the sticks and freeze for five to six hours, or overnight. Loosen the ice pop from the mold and serve!

For those of you who are worried, I did move Derek to the table immediately after taking this picture. The lighting’s better by our couch than by our table!

Maybe next time I’ll make a grown-up version where instead of juice, I use margarita mix and tequila instead. That would be amazing!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Ice Pops

  1. Sadly, for the adult version, you’d have to be low on the tequila and high on the mix! Tequila won’t freeze (I actually usually pre-mixed margaritas on hand in my freezer, they are slushy-like when I pull them out… but I have a high tequila ratio). 🙂

    Posted by Kelly | May 29, 2012, 4:33 pm
    • Aww! Well, that makes sense…should’ve thought about how vodka doesn’t freeze, so of course tequila wouldn’t either. Well, that’s ok, even a tiny bit would be fun 🙂 Besides, I’m mainly after the mix anyway — grape or apple juice tastes a little too juvenile!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 29, 2012, 4:42 pm
  2. You know, it MUST be a mom with boys thing because my heart stopped when I saw Derek eating the ice pop on the couch… you know I only allow my boys to eat popsicles in the backyard, thats how anal I am. Anyways, thanks for another must try recipe!

    Posted by Tina | May 29, 2012, 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

