Et Cetera, Holidays

Cute Easter Centerpiece

For the past few Easters, I’ve seen pictures floating around the Internet of adorable centerpieces where there are somehow Peeps and jellybeans in a vase of tulips. Not being very creative at heart, I had no idea how Peeps and tulips could be in a vase of fresh flowers without getting completely soggy, but a few weeks ago, I came across this tutorial, and it finally made sense!

The secret is a vase within a vase. Duh! Now I can make my own cute Easter centerpiece, too. (By the way, this is the first time I’ve ever bought Peeps. I know they’re popular, but to me, they taste awful. I’m not a fan of marshmallows, and to coat them with sugar makes them even worse … sweetness overload with zero flavor. But, they’re cute in a vase!)

Easter Centerpiece With Peeps and Jelly Beans

Materials

  • Two vases with the same shape, one 3″ smaller in diameter than the other
  • Jelly beans
  • Peeps
  • Flowers

Instructions

Set the smaller vase inside the bigger vase, making sure it’s in the center. If your smaller vase is shorter than your bigger vase, put a layer of jelly beans into the larger vase so that the top of the smaller vase is level with the top of the larger vase when set on top of the jelly beans.

Next, pour jelly beans around the smaller vase. Stop when the jelly beans reach the halfway or 3/4 point of the height of the larger vase. Carefully arrange Peeps around the smaller vase, with the face of the Peep facing outward.

Using a small cup, carefully fill the inner vase with water. Cut and arrange your flowers in the inner vase.

Place jelly beans on top of the Peeps until the inner vase is concealed from view, or until you’ve reached the rim of the outer vase. You could do this before filling the inner vase with water, but I didn’t want to risk getting the top layer of jelly beans wet during the flower arrangement phase, so I saved it for the last step.

Voila! An adorable centerpiece.

For other Easter ideas I’ve written about, click here!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Cute Easter Centerpiece

  1. This is great Bev! I love the colors, that is what I am about, color, color, color!!!

    Posted by Heather Grace | April 5, 2012, 8:12 am
  2. I don’t like Peeps to eat (more of a chocolate girl), but I always think they are SO cute… so this is a PERFECT idea for me!!! Peeps decor! A little late for this year, but next year I am so doing this.

    Posted by Emily | April 6, 2012, 6:15 pm
  3. This is awesome! πŸ™‚

    Posted by Dawn | April 6, 2012, 7:29 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: DIY Easter Centerpieces | Tips From Town - March 23, 2013

  2. Pingback: DIY Easter Centerpieces | Tips From Town - April 15, 2014

Leave a comment

Saucy Mommy