Desserts

Scrumptious AND Healthy: Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

Yesterday, I made a delicious, easy yet completely guilt-free dessert that I saw on Pinterest: chocolate banana “ice cream.” I admit the picture above doesn’t do it justice — it’s not that appealing when something looks like the byproduct of the digestive system — but you must try it. (In my defense, it’s hard to make something that’s the color and consistency of chocolate soft-serve ice cream look appealing in a photograph. ;)) All you need are a blender (or food processor), a banana and cocoa powder. It’s so creamy and naturally sweet that you’d never believe it’s dairy- and sugar-free. All that for fewer than 110 calories … need I say more?

Now, if you’ve been around a while, you know that I usually go whole-hog when it comes to desserts. Because I eat healthy meals and snacks with plenty of fruits and veggies (most of the time), and I log quite a few workout hours, my attitude toward treats is pretty relaxed. As far as I’m concerned, if you’re making good choices overall, then just enjoy the occasional daily sweet; why be virtuous and take the joy out of it? And if you’re going to take the time to make a dessert, then, for the love of God, use the real sugar. However, there are certain times — say, when your husband has asked you to support his efforts in shedding 15 pounds, or when you’re headed to Hawaii this May for your in-laws’ vow renewal and want to make sure there’s as little “insulation” as possible covering up the results of all those P90X workouts, late-night runs and break-of-dawn Bar Method classes — when a little discretion is advised when it comes to desserts. So, when I saw this pin yesterday, I immediately headed to the kitchen. If you have five minutes to spare (that’s how little active time this takes), I urge you to do the same! Seriously, this is so delicious that it’s worth making even if you have no health-, fitness- or vanity-related ulterior motives.

Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

Makes one serving

Ingredients

  • One banana
  • Two tablespoons cocoa powder

Instructions

Peel and slice the banana into a freezer-safe container or Ziploc bag.

Sliced bananas, ready to go into the freezer

Place the container or bag in the freezer until the slices are just frozen. You don’t want them to be rock hard, because then they’ll be hard to blend. Freezing the slices for two to three hours will suffice.

Remove the frozen banana slices from the container or bag, and place them into a blender. Add two tablespoons of cocoa powder.

This is all you'll need to make a delicious, no-guilt dessert: frozen banana slices and cocoa powder

Blend (or process, if using food processor) until creamy.

OK, I know it looks like a gooey mess, but it is SO creamy and chocolatey that it's hard to believe there's no dairy in this!

It might look a little gross from the pictures, but really, you must try it. If you want to up the decadence factor, you could put a bit of peanut butter or melted caramel in with the cocoa powder and frozen banana slices. On a related note, if fudgesicles are more your style, check out this awesome pin for blended Nutella and banana popsicles.

OK, enough typing … I’m off to make more “ice cream”!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Scrumptious AND Healthy: Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

  1. Sounds delish. I wonder if it’s based on yonanas (which I’ve never tried, but seems pretty amazing – it basically turns frozen fruit into soft serve).

    Posted by Marci | January 11, 2012, 7:39 am
    • Yonanas?! I must look this up!!! I’m also dying to try the nutella and banana pops. Maybe with homemade nutella (saw that on Smitten Kitchen a while ago and really want to attempt).

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | January 11, 2012, 7:50 am
      • I was just looking at the Yonanas machine at Brookstone. So tempted to get it altho I’m wondering if its really necessary since I’ve heard blenders work just as well…

        Posted by Kanako | January 11, 2012, 11:27 am
      • Well, the same could be said for coffee makers, electric kettles, garlic presses, apple corers–there’s a way to achieve the same result with more basic tools. 😉 I think the key is how often you’d use it — before I got hooked on coffee, I didn’t bother with a coffeemaker; I just used a percolator when I had coffee-drinking company. But now that I drink 2 cups a day, I can’t live without the time-saving convenience of the coffeemaker, you know? I’d say, if you try out the blender technique and discover you really like blended frozen fruit and would eat it every day, and have counter space/cupboard space, I say go for it!! (Never ask me whether or not to buy something, remember? I’ll almost always say you should!)

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | January 11, 2012, 11:44 am
  2. I saw this on Pinterest too and am really curious to try it. I have a few bananas that need to be used up. But I’m curious, how much does it taste like bananas? Cause I really don’t like bananas unless the taste is really masked by, say some chocolate or nutella 🙂 Think I’ll try it out tonight!

    Posted by Holly W | January 11, 2012, 8:14 am
  3. So trying this! You’ve inspired to make me to make this for William. I love the Bento lunches for 2012 and the “lunchables.” You’re amazing at all you do, Beverly! We hope to see you in TC this summer or back in Saginaw.

    Posted by Tracy | January 11, 2012, 4:16 pm

Leave a comment

Saucy Mommy