Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: “Lunchables” Bento

When I was a kid, I loved Lunchables. It’s actually kind of funny, because my mom and grandma would spend all this time making amazing triple-decker sandwiches for me stacked with the freshest ingredients, but on the rare occasion that I opened my lunchbox to a package of Lunchables, I would squeal in delight. Hooray! Processed meat and cheese in a plastic tray! πŸ˜‰ Say what you will about Lunchables, but there’s just something inherently fun about stacking our own cracker sandwiches.

These days, I’ve evolved from consuming Lunchables to making them (hey, if you think about it, a Lunchable is just a mass-manufactured bento for kids). It’s more fun, fresher and less expensive than a store-bought one. The one Jack’s bringing to school today, packed in his two-tier Old Navy bento box, is one of the best ones I’ve put together. Here’s the “Lunchables” bottom layer:

Bottom tier of bento box: Lunchables!

I used three reusable silicone muffin cups — one for crackers, one for rolled-up strips of turkey lunch meat, and one for cheese cutouts (I cut a few circles out of cheese slices, tucked the scraps beneath the circles, and topped the whole stack with an elephant-shaped piece of cheese). I wedged cut-up baby carrots and some grape tomatoes in the empty spaces around the muffin cups.

Top tier: Fruit course

The top tier holds a fruit medley. On the left side, we’ve got some chopped strawberries, topped with fresh blueberries. Asian pear slices hold court on the right side. I also stuck in an animal pick to make the whole thing even more fun.

p.s.: I get a lot of questions about where to buy the equipment I use to make the bentos. Whenever I mention a cookie cutter, muffin cup or other bento supplies, I link to a site where you can buy that item (if possible). It’s not super obvious, but the bold text indicates a link.

p.p.s. Sorry about the lack of posts in the past week. My husband’s in Hong Kong on business, and I’ve been wearing less of the Saucy Mommy hat and more of the Trying To Keep It Together hat. He’s not around much on weekdays, but he does get up early with the kids so I can get a little extra shut-eye or squeeze in a workout before he leaves for the office, and he’s really hands-on on weekends, all of which are crucial to my sanity. Anyway, he gets back on Friday, at which time the blogging will pick back up. πŸ™‚

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: “Lunchables” Bento

  1. Great lunch! Those pears look delicious.

    Posted by Keeley McGuire | January 10, 2012, 7:35 am
  2. These are some of your cutest bentos ever! Glad to see the boys are getting their four food groups while I’m away. Miss you!

    Posted by Lucky Hubby | January 10, 2012, 4:57 pm
  3. I heart lunchables! Never really thought of making my own, but it’s a great idea!

    Posted by Marci | January 10, 2012, 5:20 pm
    • Thanks, Marci! It occurred to me one day when I was staring into the fridge that I had everything in hand to make a lunchable, so why not?? I’m thinking next time I make pizza, I might put the leftover ingredients into a pizza lunchable! (One of my childhood faves) A few rounds of baked crust, a little container of sauce, some cheese, some pepperoni, and you’re good to go. πŸ™‚

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | January 10, 2012, 6:16 pm

Leave a Reply

