Desserts, Holidays

Chocolate Stirring Spoons

Last week, I wrote about homemade hot cocoa mix, individually packaged for your gifting pleasure. Today, I introduce to you hot cocoa’s perfect companion: a chocolate-coated stirring spoon.

Lineup of chocolate stirring spoons, each with a different topping. From left: coconut, white chocolate chips, marshmallow

I saw these on Pinterest a few weeks ago and clicked over to the original recipe right away. The concept is both simple and ingenious — coat a plastic spoon with melted chocolate, then decorate with toppings like shredded coconut, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips or marshmallows. You can use the coated spoon to stir your cocoa or to give a mug of hot milk some extra oomph. I also made some peanut butter stirrers (coated with melted peanut butter chips). Seriously, I bow down to the people who think of such things. These squeal-worthy spoons take only 15 minutes to make and are well worth the effort.

Chocolate-Coated Stirring Spoons

Ingredients

For the basic coating:

  • Plastic spoons (I like clear ones best)
  • Semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • Peanut butter chips

Various toppings, such as:

  • Mini chocolate chips
  • White chocolate chips
  • Butterscotch or toffee chips
  • Mini marshmallows
  • Shredded coconut
  • Chopped nuts (I didn’t use this because I wasn’t sure if people would enjoy nuts floating around in their beverage [feel free to insert nuts-related joke here; I’m too lazy to think of one!])

You’ll also need some wax paper on which to lay the spoons after they’re coated in chocolate.

Instructions

Before you start, make sure you have all your toppings and spoons set out, so they’re handy. You’ll need to work quickly once the chocolate is melted.

Set out all your toppings and spoons before you start

Melt the chocolate chips (or peanut butter chips) in a microwave-safe bowl, according to package directions. Then, coat the bowl of a plastic spoon with the melted chocolate (or peanut butter). The original recipe says to roll the spoon in the chocolate, but I found it easier to use a mini spatula or metal spoon to fill the plastic spoon. The melted chocolate is kind of thick, and it tended to fall off the plastic spoon. Plus, I didn’t like how gloppy the back got. Using a spatula or spoon to fill the plastic spoon took care of all those issues. If you want, you can still apply a thin coating of melted chocolate onto the back of the plastic spoon, so it looks nice all the way around.

Once the spoon is coated, place it on the wax paper and quickly decorate it with toppings. My favorite is the marshmallow snowman:

Marshmallow snowman chocolate spoon

Simply press three mini marshmallows, one of the flat sides facing up, into the melted chocolate. Put a long piece of shredded coconut between the first two marshmallows for a scarf, then apply a tiny bit of melted chocolate onto two mini chocolate chips, and affix to the first marshmallow to give the snowman eyes. You can use a toothpick to put the melted chocolate on the mini chips, or do what I did, which is to dip the bottom of the mini chips very quickly into the chocolate.

Repeat for all of the spoons (you may have to reheat the melted chocolate at some point if you’re making a lot of spoons). Top them however you like.

Lineup of chocolate stirring spoons, each with a different topping. From left: coconut, white chocolate chips, marshmallow

I also love the one coated in peanut butter chips and topped with mini chocolate chips. I can’t wait to make some PB-flavored hot chocolate with it!

Peanut butter and mini chocolate chips -- I love that it looks like a chocolate chip cookie!

Once you’re done, let the spoons rest on the wax paper until the chocolate (or peanut butter) is completely hardened. It took about two hours for me. Then, place a treat bag over each one and tie it closed with a ribbon.

These would make adorable favors for your holiday party. You can also put a couple of them into a gift basket (along with the cocoa mix), or — ooh! — imagine how cute it would be to stick them into a Christmas-themed mug with a packet of hot chocolate mix. Jack thought these were so cute that I think I’ll put a few into his stocking. He liked helping me with them, too. Have fun making and decorating your own chocolate stirrers!

Hot chocolate dipping spoons, all wrapped and ready to give!

p.s. I know the blog’s been sweets-heavy the last few days. (What can I say? I love eating healthy foods, but I’ll never give up my treats! Plus, it’s the holidays!) I’ll be back tomorrow with a wonderful, easy, delicious weekday meal recipe that’s perfect for this hectic season.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Saucy Mommy