Bentos, Meals, Snacks

First Week of School Lunch Round-Up

We survived the first week of school! It’s a big year for us, with D, my “baby,” in kindergarten. J, my older son, is in second grade. Second grade! Craziness. This is the first year I’ll have to consistently pack two lunches each day. We’ll see how it goes! Here’s what I made for them for the first week of school.

Last Thursday was their first day. The kindergarteners were dismissed at noon, so only J brought lunch. I made his favorite spam sushi rolls and complemented it with apples (the top layer cut into “2” shapes with a cookie cutter), a hard-boiled egg shaped like a car (made with this boiled egg mold), Goldfish, and a mini Oreo. I packed it in a PlanetBox.

IMG_3140

Although D didn’t stay for lunch on the first day, I made him a special snack, packed in his PlanetBox Shuttle. He had Pirate’s Booty, a Babybel cheese with a star cut out of the wax (just press cookie cutter hard into the wax), and a poor attempt at heart-shaped strawberries:

IMG_3141

Last Friday was another noon dismissal for the kindergarteners, so again, I only had to pack one lunch. J had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on wheat and white bread, with stars cut out of the bread slices, baby carrots, and apples, packed in our trusty EasyLunchboxes:

IMG_3166

Monday, J and D both had lunch. J had ham and veggie fried rice, hot dog octopus and crab (with black sesame seed eyes), grapes and apples, and tomatoes, packed in his EasyLunchbox:

IMG_3204

D had basically the same thing, but packed in his PlanetBox (there’s a lid that goes on top of the container with the rice in it), and with a little container of ketchup for dipping (J isn’t as big a fan of ketchup as D is):

IMG_3203

Some of you have asked me if the boys eat the rice cold. The answer is yes. I do heat up the rice (or other warm dishes) in the morning, though. I put an ice pack into their insulated lunch bags, and by lunch time, the rice is cool, but not completely cold and clumpy. If I’m packing something that needs to be served warm, such as soup, I use a Thermos container.

Tuesday, both boys got a roast beef sandwich on wheat, a mini bell pepper, three mini Oreos, and cara cars oranges, packed in their EasyLunchboxes:

IMG_6796

Wednesday, I packed a fun picnic-y lunch in their EasyLunchboxes, with roast beef, bell pepper strips, Babybel cheese with their first initial carved out of the wax, strawberries, crackers, and a leak-proof container of Greek yogurt with honey (and a little spoon to eat it with):

IMG_3209

Thursday, I packed the boys Nutella and homemade strawberry jam sandwiches, grapes, tomatoes, bell pepper, and apple slices in their PlanetBoxes:

IMG_6797

Today, the boys are buying pizza at school, so it’s a lunch break for me. Woo-hoo!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “First Week of School Lunch Round-Up

  1. Omg each lunch is more beautiful than the next. I want to eat it all up. It’s a visual treat. Thank you for sharing Bev! It brightens my day. I missed your updates all summer.

    Posted by chox | September 18, 2014, 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Saucy Mommy
