Bentos

TGIF! Lunch Round-Up for 10/7-10/11

And here we are again — yet another Friday! I have a whole list of recipes I’d like to try (and write about), but this October feels like it’s whizzing by. Most nights, I’ve been turning to old standbys, but once Halloween is over, I should have enough of a lull to start cooking new things again. In the meantime, it’s all I can do to keep up with the boys’ lunches! Here’s what I packed in their lunch bags this week:

Monday, I made Jack a “lunchables” in his PlanetBox. He had crackers, roast beef, cheddar cheese cut out in leaf and pumpkin shapes, grape tomatoes inside rings of sliced mini bell pepper, honeycrisp apple wedges, grapes, and a Rolo for a treat.

IMG_5305

Derek also stayed at preschool for lunch on Monday, so I made him a mini version of Jack’s lunch, in his PlanetBox Shuttle (speaking of which, the Shuttle is on sale for 30% off with a $30 purchase until October 20! For those of you who are interested, go check it out here. It’s not that great of a deal if you’re only looking to purchase one, but if you’ve got two kids to buy for, 30% off a Shuttle is great! And yes, PlanetBox products are very expensive, but I’ve found them to be extremely durable so far). Anyway, Derek had crackers, a mini red bell pepper, grape tomatoes, roast beef, leaf and pumpkin-shaped cheddar cheese, honeycrisp apple wedges, and grapes.

IMG_5304

Tuesday, Jack had a leaf-shaped PB&J surrounded by tangerine wedges, Goldfish, and apple wedges, packed in another of my favorite lunch boxes, the EasyLunchbox.

IMG_5306

Wednesday, Jack brought roast beef and cucumber roll-ups (I layered roast beef and shaved cucumber on a small tortilla, rolled it up, stuck toothpicks in it, then sliced the roll between toothpicks), a hardboiled egg molded like a car (cut in half), heirloom cherry tomatoes, mandarin oranges, and a whistle candy for dessert.

IMG_5307

Thursday, Jack brought a ghost and pumpkin PB&J, grape tomatoes, apple wedges, and grapes.

IMG_5308

Today, Jack’s buying lunch at school, so I’m off the hook. 🙂 Have great weekends, all!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “TGIF! Lunch Round-Up for 10/7-10/11

  1. That looks delicious saucy mommy. Your posts make my day! You are such a thoughtful and creative mom. And you makes things look so easy too. Please please make my lunches.

    Posted by chox | October 22, 2013, 8:25 am

Leave a Reply

