Bentos, Snacks

TGIF: Snack and Lunch Round-Up for 9/16 – 9/20

Another Friday, another lunch roundup! This week, I kept things simple because I was short on lunch prep time most days.

Monday, Jack brought his PlanetBox for lunch with three turkey roll-ups, cheddar cheese cut out with an airplane cookie cutter (and decorated with food markers), Ritz crackers, apple wedges, kiwi, and chocolate-covered dried blueberries.

IMG_5284Tuesday, Jack bought lunch at school, but he did bring a snack of apple wedges and chunks of homemade pumpkin bread.

IMG_5285Wednesday, Jack’s snack was air-popped popcorn and golden kiwi. He bought lunch again because rumor had it that Wednesday’s school lunch came with a magnetic sticker. I try to keep school-bought lunches to one a week because Jack loses a lot of time getting in the lunch line and trying to open up his spork and milk (and also because I’m not convinced the lunches are very nutritious!), but it was such a busy week that honestly, it was easier to just send him with a snack that day.

IMG_5286Thursday’s snack was a homemade strawberry-banana smoothie (I froze it overnight, then just put it in his snack bag, and it thawed out by snack time) and Goldfish.

IMG_5288Thursday’s lunch was two Hawaiian roll roast beef sandwiches, baby carrots, nectarines, and pretzel Goldfish, packed in an EasyLunchbox.

IMG_5287Today’s snack was grapes and Goldfish.

IMG_5289Both boys stayed for lunch today at their schools and used their PlanetBoxes. Jack’s lunch was roast beef on Hawaiian rolls, grape tomatoes, celery, cheese puff balls, oranges, and a whistle candy.

IMG_5290Derek had the same, except his “entree” was a bear-shaped PB&J with homemade strawberry jam.

IMG_5291Have great weekends, everyone!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “TGIF: Snack and Lunch Round-Up for 9/16 – 9/20

  1. I absolutely enjoy reading your posts about the boys’ lunches! From the looks of it, they are far better veggie eaters than me 😛 I for one would never eat any color of bell peppers or raw carrots >”< Fortunately I get to pack my own lunch!

    I saw your comment on how it takes a while for Jack to open the sporks. Maybe what you can do is pack a fork/spoon set for him. There are some cute ones that even comes with chopsticks. I keep one set at my desk so I can avoid using disposable forks/spoons.

    Posted by Wenny | September 24, 2013, 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

Saucy Mommy
