Snacks

Whole Wheat Cheddar Cheese Crackers

The other day, my friend Tiffany posted a picture of the whole wheat cheddar cheese crackers that she made for her daughter. I looked at the recipe (from the Weelicious blog) and was intrigued by the fact that there were only three ingredients — whole wheat flour, butter, and shredded cheddar. Well, OK, and salt, but who doesn’t already have salt on hand? My boys practically inhale Goldfish crackers, but Weelicious is right — they are mostly sodium-laden empty calories. Easy to serve, but not much nutritional value for something that my kids eat on an almost daily basis. So, I tried my hand at these, and they’re super easy, fun to make (the kids can help punch out the shapes!), and best of all, the boys really love them. To tell the truth, Johnny and I (and his coworkers) like them as well. I can’t say I’ll never buy a box of cheese crackers again, but think I’ll be making these regularly!

IMG_5230

Whole Wheat Cheddar Cheese Crackers from Weelicious

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used sharp cheddar cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon of salt substitute (I didn’t have salt substitute, so I just used salt. Next time, I’m only going to use half a tablespoon, or maybe even just a teaspoon; I think less salty would taste even better)
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cut into pieces

Instructions

In a food processor, pulse the flour, cheese, and salt together. I don’t have a big food processor, so I just combined the ingredients by hand with a pastry cutter.

IMG_5220

If you’re using a food processor, add the butter to the flour/cheese/salt mix and pulse until a dough starts to come together. Or, if you’re doing this by hand like I did, use a pastry cutter (or two forks or just your fingers) to mush the ingredients together until they become crumbly. It’s a lot like making a pie crust.

IMG_5223

Once the dough starts to come together in big crumbly chunks, you can form it into a ball by squeezing with your hands. Put the ball of dough on a floured or parchment paper-lined work surface (I prefer parchment paper, as I really don’t like flour all over my counter), then roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thick.

IMG_5224

At this point, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Using whatever cookie cutter shapes you like (the smaller the better, I find), cut the dough out into shapes, re-rolling the scraps as you go.

IMG_5225

Place the cut dough onto a cookie sheet (you may need two cookie sheets!). I lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper to prevent sticking. I made little birds, stars, and rocket ships.

IMG_5226

Put the cookie sheets in the preheated oven and bake for 15-17 minutes. Remove the cookie sheet from the oven and let the crackers cool.

IMG_5228

Store in an airtight container for up to a week. Enjoy!

IMG_5231

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Cheddar Cheese Crackers

  1. I’m a big fan of shortbread-style crackers using various cheeses and herbs, but I’ve never tried making any with whole-wheat flour. I’m guessing if you didn’t care about cute shapes, you could just roll the dough into a log and cut disks to bake, similar to store-bought cookie dough. This way you could also freeze the logs and just haul them out whenever you need them. (Can you tell I currently own zero cookie cutters and really don’t want to deal with cute shapes?!?)

    Posted by Ann Bagel Storck | September 5, 2013, 11:21 am
    • Or you can roll them out and just cut them into squares or rectangles using a knife or pastry cutter (although I’m guessing you might not have a pastry cutter either). 🙂

      Posted by Kelly in Oregon | September 5, 2013, 11:35 am
      • Oops, yes, Kelly, I forgot to mention it, but for those who are not as obsessed with cookie cutters as I am, you could just cut the dough with a knife or pizza cutter. I do have a pastry cutter; I thought that was the thing in the pics, that I used to combine the flour and butter? Anyway, I use it all the time to make pie crusts!

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | September 5, 2013, 4:40 pm
    • Oh yes, I forgot to say that you can also just use a pizza cutter or knife to cut it into squares or strips! In the original post, the author noted that she froze after baking.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | September 5, 2013, 4:38 pm
  2. I made cheese crackers from a smitten kitchen recipe – basically same ingredients but added some half and half.

    Posted by Audrey | September 5, 2013, 10:09 pm
  3. Yay! I’m so glad that you and the boys liked them! Alas, Claire does not. However my hubby loves them and I do too so they won’t go to waste ha ha. 🙂

    Posted by Tiffany | September 9, 2013, 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

