Meals, Snacks

Mini Babybel Mozzarella: Review and Ideas

Mini Babybel® Cheese provided me with product for this review. However, thoughts and opinions are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of the brand.

Last week, Mini Babybel sent me samples of its new mozzarella mini Babybels for review on Saucy Mommy. I was very excited because Jack and Derek absolutely love mini Babybel. Derek even has a little cheer he does every time he asks for a Babybel (I swear they are not paying me to say this; several friends can attest to the fact that he does this!):

Occasionally, when I ask Derek what he wants for dessert after dinner, he says, “Babybel.” I love how portable mini Babybels are, and how easy it is to carve the red wax wrapping to add some fun to a school lunch or snack. The samples came at a good time, too, as I was starting to think about some special back-to-school lunches for the boys (they both start up again this week).

I received two pouches of the new mozzarella mini Babybel in a nifty insulated snack bag:

IMG_5205

Jack was most excited about the snack bag and asked if he could use it to carry his snacks for school. Derek liked the green outer wrapper. Both of them eagerly asked to try one right away. Here’s Derek sampling it:

IMG_5212

Their comments were: “It’s good. It’s kind of salty, but not too salty. It’s not mushy. It kind of tastes like regular Babybel, but not as strong.” I also ate one, and I’d say the kids’ review sums up my thoughts pretty well. The consistency is the same as other mini Babybels, and the flavor is mild, as you’d expect from mozzarella. It isn’t as salty as the regular Babybel variety (which I believe is gouda). My personal favorite mini Babybel is the white cheddar, but I like how the mild flavor of the mozzarella one makes it versatile. Jack says he likes this new kind best, but Derek remains loyal to his “normal” Babybel. However, he says he would eat this if I packed it in his snack or lunch, so I’d say that is a favorable review from a four-year-old.

After we sampled the cheese, it was time to think of fun ways to use them! When I think of mozzarella, caprese salad comes to mind, and the consistency of these mini Babybels is great for a lunchbox version of a caprese that won’t get mushy or slide all over the place:

IMG_5213

I unwrapped three Babybel mozzarellas, used a small heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut a heart out of each, then used the same cookie cutter to cut three hearts out of a slice of tomato. I then inserted the tomato hearts into the cheese, placed them into the lunchbox, and wedged basil leaves between each. If you want to, you can drizzle some balsamic vinaigrette over the whole thing.

IMG_5216

Jack actually came up with this next idea. He thought the cut-out cheese hearts would be great on a toothpick with a tiny piece of basil and a chunk of tomato. That way, he said, he could dip it into some dressing.

IMG_5218

You could easily put two or three skewers like this into a lunch box and put the vinaigrette into a small leakproof container. I could also see this being cute with grape tomatoes, and of course you can just cut a Babybel into quarters instead of into shapes.

Derek always prefers plainer food, so he said he would be happiest just eating the Babybel mozzarella crackers, which led me to my old Babybel standby of simply cutting letters or punching shapes into the wax:

IMG_5207

Looks pretty cute in a lunch, if I do say so myself!

IMG_5206

(For those who are wondering, that’s a PB&J made from waffles. I had two waffles left over from breakfast, so I cut them into heart shapes with a cookie cutter and used them as the “bread” for a PB&J. Fun!)

Many thanks to Mini Babybel for the mozzarella samples. We had fun with them!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Mini Babybel Mozzarella: Review and Ideas

  1. Awesome! We are starting school tomorrow and we will try the mini babybel! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Posted by Tracy | September 2, 2013, 1:55 pm
  2. Your review was great, the video of Derek was adorable and I love your ideas for the Babybel mozzarella!

    Posted by Jersea Runner Girl | September 3, 2013, 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

