Bentos, Snacks

TGIF! Snack & Lunch Round-Up for 8/20-8/23

As promised, here I am with the rest of the pictures of this week’s day camp snacks and lunches.

Tuesday’s snack was homemade Star Wars cookies (from this recipe) and cut-up strawberries with light saber cupcake picks (as mini forks). I used my new snack-sized PlanetBox Shuttle boxes for the snacks. I can’t say enough great things about PlanetBox (no, they aren’t paying me to say this … though that would be great! ;)). The boxes are durable, I love the stainless steel look, and they hold a lot of food. When I saw that they had launched this new smaller size, I just couldn’t resist. These boxes will last forever, and I figure even after the boys outgrow the cute food stage, I could use them to hold more “plain” lunches. Sometimes I even use them for myself or Johnny!

IMG_5153

Lunch for Jack that day was packed in an EasyLunchbox, my other favorite lunch box. These are lightweight, easy to open, and also durable. He had a PB&J with a crescent moon, a planet, and a rocket ship cut out of the top slices of bread, star-shaped cucumber slices, and grapes. The loose planetary theme is in honor of his day camp’s “space” theme.

IMG_5152

Wednesday, both boys brought a Hawaiian roll, grapes, and a Babybel cheese with a star cut out of the wax (I only took a picture of one of the snack boxes; I figured you didn’t need to see a second identical snack box!).

IMG_5165

Jack’s lunch, packed in his PlanetBox, was brown rice with sweet and sour chicken (left over from dinner the night before), heart-shaped cucumber slices, dried guava slices, honeydew balls, and a chewy caramel candy as a treat. The rice and chicken container also has a spill-proof stainless steel lid. And for those who are wondering, yes, Jack is willing to eat chicken and rice cold.

IMG_5164

Thursday, I once again used my smaller PlanetBox boxes to pack the boys each a snack of pitted cherries, honeydew balls, and Goldfish/parmesan stars.

IMG_5166

Lunch for Jack, packed in an EasyLunchbox, was dinosaur PB&Js, nectarines, and veggie chips.

IMG_5167

Today, snack was emerald plums and nectarines, with a side of Chex Mix.

IMG_5169

I sent Jack with a “picnic lunch” of roast beef and ham on sword picks, Babybels with rockets and planets cut out of the wax, cucumbers, tomatoes, graham crackers, and orange slices. There’s also a Hershey’s Kiss for dessert.

IMG_5168

I hope everyone has terrific weekends!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “TGIF! Snack & Lunch Round-Up for 8/20-8/23

  1. The fuck is this? Do you really spend time cutting up cucumbers into stars for your kid? I think you need a job, dear.

    Posted by Jamie | August 23, 2013, 9:48 pm
  2. You amaze me! Back from 2 long vacations and right back in the swing of things 🙂 Your boys are so lucky to have a mom that takes time to make their food fun…especially when that mama has such a busy schedule!!! Everything looks cute and yummy 🙂

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | August 24, 2013, 6:25 pm
  3. You are amazing! I wish I was creative–fortunately, I have this awesome blog for inspiration 🙂

    Posted by Sheena | August 25, 2013, 8:46 pm
    • And it looks like Jamie above needs a job since she doesn’t have anything better to do then to leave rude comments.

      Posted by Sheena | August 25, 2013, 8:47 pm
      • LOL! Thank you, Sheena. I think people who leave rude comments about others’ hobbies have issues. I’m happy when others find my blog fun or helpful, but the truth is, this is just a fun hobby for me, and it’s not terribly time-consuming. Maybe 10-15 min out of my day. I’m a terrible artist, I’m not good at knitting or photography, so this is a way for me to be creative (and I like to write, so why not write about my love of playing with food?). And, it brings a smile to my kids’ faces, so as far as I’m concerned, everyone wins! I find it interesting that making cute food for my kids inspires some people to make rude comments or to judge me or assume (wrongly) that I must be super lame or have excessive amounts of free time.

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | August 26, 2013, 3:01 pm
      • Oh my gosh you are absolutely right! I’ve got nothing to do and clearly I’m just jealous because my cucumbers aren’t perfectly starred and there’s no spaceships cut in my cheese wheel.

        Posted by Jamie | August 27, 2013, 1:55 pm
  4. Love your edible fruit creations! Great ideas for getting the little ones to enjoy their daily meals. Thank you for sharing and God Bless!

    Posted by Monsi Jimenez | September 4, 2013, 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

