Desserts, Freezer Friendly, Snacks

Glitter Grapes

Hi, everyone! As many of you know, this is a summer of travels for me and the boys. We just returned from an amazing month in Taiwan, and soon, we’ll be spending a few weeks by Lake Michigan with my in-laws. So, Saucy Mommy is on a summer hiatus, but I did make something the other day that I wanted to share during my unofficial blogging break: glitter grapes!

IMG_4285

I was going through my Facebook newsfeed when I saw a picture of an adorable bento box that someone had made. It contained something called “glitter grapes.” I was intrigued, so I Googled it. Turns out, they’re grapes covered in Jello powder and then chilled. Sounded kind of weird to me, honestly, but they looked pretty, seemed extremely easy to make, and the reviewers all said the result tasted like candy. Now, I’m not one to go around covering fruit in sugar (kind of defeats the purpose, don’t you think?), but these seemed fun, and I knew the boys would be amused by them, so I decided to whip these up for dessert the day after we returned from Taiwan as a little pick-me-up for the kids.

IMG_4287

Glitter Grapes (recipe from runnellerrun)

Ingredients

  • One bunch of grapes, any color
  • One box of Jello powder, any variety

I think these are prettiest when the grape and Jello color match, like green grapes with lime Jello powder, or red grapes with raspberry, grape, or some other red/purple color, but you could also do green grapes with blueberry or some other craziness. 😉

Instructions

Remove grapes from stems and rinse thoroughly.

IMG_4281

Shake a little of the Jello powder (no more than 1/4 of the packet at a time) onto a plate, then drop a handful of rinsed grapes onto the powder.

IMG_4282

Gently shake the plate to roll the grapes until they’re covered with Jello powder.

IMG_4283

Set the covered grapes in a separate bowl. Repeat the process until all grapes are covered, replenishing the Jello powder as necessary. To avoid “crusty” grapes (as opposed to “glitter” grapes, try to cover the grapes as quickly as possible. The longer they stay on the powder, the more clumps of powder will stick to the grapes. And, you won’t need all of the Jello packet; for a whole bunch of grapes, I used less than half a packet. This makes me feel slightly better about coating grapes in green sugar. 😉

IMG_4284

When all the grapes are covered, set them in the refrigerator for several hours. The colder they are, the better! I like them even better frozen. In the reviews of the original recipe, someone suggested setting the covered grapes on a baking sheet, freezing them, then popping handfuls into individual snack bags and storing the bags in the freezer for easy on-the-go treats later.

The kids, of course, LOVED these. They prefer to call them “sparkle grapes” and don’t seem to appreciate the alliteration of “glitter grapes” as much as I do. 😉 These won’t be on my regular rotation, but they’re a fun playdate or beach trip treat.

IMG_4288

Thank you all for reading, and I’ll be back in mid-August with some back-to-school ideas! I hope everyone has a terrific summer.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

