Bentos

Lunch Round Up For 4/29 – 5/2

The weekly lunch round-up is one day early this week because I won’t be packing any lunches tomorrow! Jack is going on his first overnight trip without me (sniff!): Johnny’s taking him to Louisiana to visit extended family, including both of Johnny’s grandmothers! It will be a great experience for Jack to visit his great-grandmothers and to get to know his aunts and cousins. I wish Derek and I were going, too, but with all the traveling we’re doing this year, it made more sense, cost-wise, for just Johnny and Jack to go. Jack’s super excited. Anyway, let’s get to the lunches, shall we?

Monday, I packed Jack two roast beef sandwiches on crescent rolls (left from breakfast), fresh pineapple chunks, and grape tomatoes in an EasyLunchbox.

IMG_3119

Tuesday, I packed a star-shaped PB&J, navel orange sections, apple wedges, Chex Mix, and a few Skittles in a PlanetBox.

IMG_3120

Wednesday, Jack requested salad again, so I made him a green salad with “thousand island” dressing (mixed ketchup and mayonnaise together — a nifty trick that a good friend taught me), roast beef, and tomatoes. Pineapple chunks and Goldfish crackers rounded out the meal, held in an EasyLunchbox.

IMG_3121

Derek also stayed for lunch at preschool on Wednesday, and although he loves steamed broccoli, raw bell peppers, tomatoes, and a variety of other vegetables, you can’t get him to touch salad with a 10-foot pole. Jack used to avoid salad, too, so I’m not giving up on him yet! But, no sense in having him bring something that I’m 99% sure he wouldn’t eat, so instead, he got a roast beef sandwich on wheat bread, pineapple, and Goldfish crackers.

IMG_3122

Today, Jack brought dino-shaped PB&Js, a hardboiled egg cut in half, sprinkled with some sea salt, apple wedges, strawberries, and one yogurt-covered cookie.

IMG_3126

 

OK, I’m off to pack my big boy’s bags for his trip. It’s going to be a lovely weekend here, until Sunday, when it dips down to 68 degrees. Boo. But, I will enjoy the sun-soaked portion of the weekend with Derek, for sure!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Saucy Mommy
