Bentos

TGIF! Lunch Round-Up For 4/1 – 4/5

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m still in shock that a quarter of 2013 is over already. How is it April?! Didn’t we just celebrate the New Year? Anyway, here’s what the boys brought in their lunches this week:

Monday was one of those “Mommy forgot to pack a lunch the day before” mornings, so I quickly threw together dinosaur almond butter and jam sandwiches, two clementines, and a Peep from Easter in an EasyLunchbox:

IMG_3002

Seriously, this took about five minutes to put together. Thank goodness for EasyLunchboxes and Planetbox! The compartments make it really easy to pack a (somewhat) well-rounded, visually appealing lunch even when I’m short on time. And no, they’re not paying me to say these things. 😉

Tuesday, I packed roast turkey and cucumber sandwiches on tortilla, cherry tomatoes, Goldfish, kiwi slices, and some jelly beans from Jack’s Easter stash in his Planetbox:

IMG_3003

Wednesday was a random pizza day at school, so Jack decided to buy lunch that day. It’s just as well, because today is his class field trip, so he can’t buy lunch as he usually does on Friday.

Thursday, I packed three big roast turkey slices, cucumbers and lightly steamed carrots, and sliced strawberries. In one of the small compartments, I put a small container of homemade thousand island dip — my friend Tomomi taught me this nifty trick of mixing ketchup and mayonnaise together. It tastes almost exactly like thousand island, and Jack loves it! He likes plain veggies, but with this dip, he’ll eat a giant bowl of veggies — broccoli, snap peas, asparagus, you name it, he’ll eat it! He actually asked for this and was delighted to have it in his lunch. There’s a snap-tight lid to the small dip container that’s not in the picture here.

IMG_3018

Today, Derek’s staying at school for lunch, and I’m chaperoning Jack’s first field trip. I am so ridiculously excited! Jack can only bring a sack lunch, no lunch boxes (so that all the lunches can fit inside a big cooler), so I put his stuff on a plate for the picture before putting the food inside ziploc bags:

IMG_3027

I packed him car- and elephant-shaped almond butter and jam sandwiches, two thumbprint cookies, and cantaloupe balls. Yum! Derek took a very similar lunch to his preschool:

IMG_3026

It was really cute; Derek helped me cut his sandwiches, and he picked his veggie (he’s obsessed with bell peppers). Once I cut the pepper strips, he loaded them into the box, and he packed the cookies and the few M&Ms. I love that the boys are getting into food prep and cooking, even if it’s just a little bit at a time.

I hope everyone has terrific weekends!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

