Bentos

TGIF! Lunch Round-Up for 3/4 – 3/8

We were in full St. Patrick’s Day lunch-packing mode this week, what with the shamrock-shaped sandwich, the shamrock cupcake picks, and the fruit rainbows. Here’s what was in the boys’ lunch boxes:

Monday was one of those “I forgot to pack lunch the day before, so let’s scramble to get something together” mornings. My EasyLunchbox made it easy! I made ham sandwiches from two crescent rounds from breakfast, put in a handful of grape tomatoes, cantaloupe (also from breakfast), and two Girl Scout trefoils plus a few watermelon sour patch kids as a treat.

IMG_2746

Tuesday, I used the Old Navy two-tier bento, which had rolled into a corner of the cabinet. I rediscovered it and used it to hold a shamrock PB&J, grape tomatoes, carrots, four tangerine halves, Goldfish (I put the lid on the small Goldfish container after taking the picture), pistachios, and a homemade mini red velvet cupcake with cream cheese. I had made the cupcakes for a moms wine night; I didn’t make it specially for his lunch — I’m not quiteย thatย indulgent! ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2747

Wednesday, I packed ham on shamrock cupcake picks, a piece of Tillamook cheddar cheese, cucumbers and bell peppers, pretzels, strawberries, and a few Valentine’s Day M&Ms in a Planetbox.

IMG_2748

Thursday, Jack had a star-shaped almond butter and strawberry jam sandwich, Goldfish, and a fruit rainbow (strawberries, tangerines, banana slices, green apples, and blackberries).

IMG_2749

Today, Jack wanted to bring lunch instead of buying as he usually does on Fridays, which are pizza day at school. I had told him that we’re having pizza tonight with a friend, so he said, “Oh, well, I can’t have pizza twice in a row. That’s, like, totally not healthy.” He’s inherited my love of planning ahead! ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, I packed him an almond butter and banana sandwich on whole wheat bread, apple wedges, Chex mix, and a strawberry and blackberry salad in an EasyLunchbox.

IMG_2759

Derek also stayed at preschool for lunch today, so I packed him a similar lunch in a Planetbox, except he got a rainbow fruit course:

IMG_2758

I hope everyone has terrific weekends!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “TGIF! Lunch Round-Up for 3/4 – 3/8

  1. Lunches look great! Have a lovely weekend!

    Posted by bentodays | March 8, 2013, 9:42 am
  2. You always make the best lunches! I think I tried making cute lunches for about 2 weeks before I gave them up. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Where did you get the crescent rolls from? They look delicious!

    Posted by Yoshiko | March 10, 2013, 4:53 pm
  3. Where do you get the little picks you use? Thanks!

    Posted by alicia | March 22, 2013, 7:46 am

Leave a Reply

