Bentos, Snacks

TGIF! Snack and Lunch Round-Up For 12/17-12/21

What an emotional week it’s been. I usually refrain from talking about current events on this blog (after all, it’s supposed to be a lighthearted food blog!), but — as is the case for many of you, I’m sure — the school shooting in Newtown, CT, last week has been weighing on my mind. Although it was 3,000 miles away, the tragedy felt very close to home because it involved young children. None of the usual things I’d say to reassure myself (“It was in a bad neighborhood,” “The person had a personal vendetta against the victims,” “People were in the wrong place at the wrong time,” etc.) applied here. All week long, as I’ve bustled here and there for various holiday-related activities, I’ve thought about how, for 20-some families in Newtown, the holidays will never be the same. At first, I was gripped by fear: What if the same thing happened at the boys’ schools? What if some crazy gunman comes into the grocery store, park, mall, wherever, while I’m there with the kids? It is clear that on a national level, things need to change — tighter gun control restrictions, better mental health care — but there are other, better forums than here to discuss those issues. What I will say here is that, after a few days of paranoia, I decided that it was useless to obsess about “what-ifs.” Instead, as cliched as this sounds, I just need to make each day with my kids count. Instead of just going through the motions, as I (and most parents, probably) often do, I need to take the time to cherish the boys’ childhood, even if it does come with lots of errant Lego pieces, sand-filled shoes, and whiny requests. I will make sure my kids know they are loved, and that they become, to the best of my (and Johnny’s) ability, well-adjusted adults.

OK, that is all I’ll say about this on Saucy Mommy. 😉 Now, on to the snacks and lunches from this week.

Jack’s snack on Monday was a fruit salad:

IMG_2141

Lunch was a Thermos of chicken curry rice and a side of Asian pears:

IMG_2142

Tuesday’s snack was tangerine wedges, Babybel cheese with a star cut out of the wax, and a couple of homemade sugar cookies:

IMG_2143

Tuesday’s lunch was udon with a little soy sauce and sesame oil, sprinkled with furikake, and topped with a Christmas tree-shaped egg sheet. The fruit course was apple wedges and strawberries:

IMG_2144

Wednesday, Jack brought Asian pears and half a banana for snack:

IMG_2147

That morning, Jack participated in a special kindergarten musical program at school, so I made his lunch a bit more festive, with reindeer PB&J sandwich balls (pears, blackberries, and cheddar bunnies rounded out the lunch):

IMG_2146

Thursday’s snack was apple wedges and Angry Birds graham crackers:

IMG_2200

Lunch was candy cane PB&Js, snowflake Ritz crackers, a Babybel cheese, a tangerine, and a couple of Hershey’s Kisses for a treat.

IMG_2199

Jack’s buying lunch today, but he brought a snack of tangerines, dried pineapples, and some savory rice crackers.

IMG_2201

This will probably be the last entry before Christmas, since we’re headed out of town to join my in-laws for the holidays. I hope everyone has a great week with friends and loved ones. Thank you so much for reading my blog over this past year! I’m very blessed to have the opportunity to write about my love of playing with food, and I’m grateful for each one of my readers.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “TGIF! Snack and Lunch Round-Up For 12/17-12/21

  1. This is probably a super basic question but what do you find works best to keep your fruits from browing? Fruit fresh, lemon juice?? I see banannas, apples and pears precut, just wondering what you have found works best.

    Posted by azbaby | December 21, 2012, 1:42 pm
    • Hi! Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂 I actually don’t use anything, and in fact, in the picture you see with bananas, pears and apples, the fruit had been cut the night before, and the picture was taken in the morning, and there was no browning. Leftover fruit my son brings home also has no browning, or very very little browning. My theory is that in the small box, there’s not a lot of air circulating around, so the fruit doesn’t brown as much. But, over Thanksgiving, when I cut a bunch of apple wedges ahead of time for a dip I made, I soaked them in a solution of water and lemon juice, and there was absolutely no browning. You could also brush the fruit with lemon juice after cutting.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | December 21, 2012, 2:50 pm

Leave a Reply

