Bentos

TGIF! Lunch and Snack Round Up for 12/3-12/7

I was so busy this week with the first wave of gift baskets that I didn’t put as much thought into snacks and lunches, but I think they still turned out pretty cute!

On Monday, Jack brought tangerine wedges and some furikake Chex mix for snack.

IMG_2035

Lunch was a star-shaped ham and cheese sandwich, surrounded by baby carrots, grape tomatoes, Goldfish crackers and shelled pistachios (Jack loves ’em!). The bottom layer of the bento box held grapes and four pretzel treats.

IMG_2036

Tuesday’s snack was watermelon and a few pretzel treats.

IMG_2107

Lunch was a Christmas-tree shaped roast beef sandwich with “ornaments” made out of carrots and red bell peppers, and a cheddar cheese star, all affixed to the sandwich with cream cheese. Tangerines and Angry Birds graham crackers rounded out the meal.

IMG_2106

Wednesday’s snack was grapes and dried mangoes.

IMG_2110

Lunch was rotisserie chicken on a croissant (cut in half), with two grape tomatoes to fill in the gaps, red bell pepper, and for a special treat, a reindeer cake pop (taken off the stick).

IMG_2109

Thursday’s snack was strawberry yogurt (made by swirling homemade strawberry jam with lowfat plain yogurt), topped with cereal.

IMG_2115

Lunch was a picnic of sorts — snowflake Ritz crackers, turkey breast on Christmas cupcake picks, Babybel cheese with a star shape cut out of the wax, half a banana, apple wedges and cucumber sticks. These types of lunches usually signal that I’m out of inspiration. 😉

IMG_2114

As usual, Jack’s buying lunch today, but Derek’s staying at his preschool for lunch. I pulled this together for him:

IMG_2116

It’s a star-shaped PB&J surrounded by apples and a Babybel with a star cut out of the wax (did you see my pathetic attempt to cut a star out of an apple slice by hand?). The bottom layer inadvertently has an orange theme: baby carrots, tangerines and Goldfish crackers.

On a different note, I’ve received enough inquiries about whether or not I sell gift baskets (or the items within a la carte) that I might (keyword is might) consider opening up an Etsy shop early next year. Johnny and a couple of my friends have been encouraging me to do this. I always hesitate against “business-tizing” (I guess that’d be “commercializing”?) my stuff; in my mind, it’s really easy, so why would someone pay for it? I’ve said many times that I really don’t have finesse for precision work, like intricately decorated or shaped cake pops, and I’m a little nervous that if someone pays for my stuff, rather than receives it as a gift, her or she would expect a higher level of quality or professionalism that I don’t have. But, it’s very, very flattering when people ask, and so I’m thinking about it. To begin, I’d sell a few goodies for major holidays (Valentine’s Day, Halloween, Christmas, etc.), and maybe some year-round items (treats for baby showers, that kind of thing). A good friend has ordered a few of the Christmas items from me, and I’m very excited to make my first official Saucy Mommy sale. 😉 So, all that is to say — watch out for the Saucy Mommy Etsy shop, possibly coming in the new year!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “TGIF! Lunch and Snack Round Up for 12/3-12/7

  1. I would totally buy gift baskets from you!!

    Posted by Sheena | December 10, 2012, 12:54 pm

Leave a Reply

