Holidays

Mummy Dogs

A couple of days ago, my friend Jennell (of Oreo monkey muffins fame) sent me the link for these Weelicious mummy dogs. She said she thought I’d like them, and she was totally right. These are easy, fun and cute — what’s not to love?

I didn’t follow the original recipe exactly, but it’s pretty close. The original recipe called for eight hot dogs, but I wanted to make 12, so I did that, still using only one package of pizza dough. I also didn’t bother stretching out the dough before wrapping the hot dogs, and everything still turned out well. This is a great recipe for kids to help with, too.

Mummy Dogs, inspired by Weelicious

Makes 8 to 12 hot dogs

Ingredients

  • One package of 8 hot dogs (you can make up to 12 if you want)
  • One package of refrigerated pizza dough (I used Pillsbury pizza dough, sold in a tube, but you can use any brand, or even make your own)
  • Mustard for the eyes
  • Ketchup for dipping

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees (or as instructed on the package of your pizza dough). Unwrap and unroll the pizza dough. Using shears or a pizza cutter, cut the dough into 8 or 12 strips (equivalent to the number of hot dogs you’re making).

Starting at one end of the hot dog, wrap the dough around each hot dog, leaving some space for the face. Stretch the dough as you go.

Place the wrapped hot dogs on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes, or as instructed on your pizza dough package.

Let the mummy dogs cool for five minutes. Then, using a toothpick, dot mustard eyes on the hot dogs.

Serve with ketchup for dipping, if desired. I put mine on a platter with some clementines that I drew jack-o-lantern faces on with my food markers.

What a fun Halloween treat! Thanks for the great idea, Jennell.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

