Appetizers and Sides, Meals

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

I’ve been meaning to write about this recipe for a long time, but I have such a backlog of potential blog entries that it’s taken me until now, the fourth time making this quiche, to do it! A while back, my friend Shelly posted a delicious-looking spinach and feta quiche recipe. She had found the original recipe on Allrecipes but made a few tweaks. I’m not a feta fan (the recipe does also call for cheddar, which you could just increase if you wanted to omit feta), or much of a quiche person, to be honest, but Shelly’s never guided me astray, and at the time, I was about to host a large gathering and wanted something that would feed a crowd and be tasty at room temperature. I liked how easy the recipe seemed, how customizable it was, and how fluffy it looked. Quiche it was!

I was really happy I made it. It only takes 15 to 20 minutes to assemble, and the results are delicious. I’ve made it with and without feta, and both ways are good. It’s a versatile dish that would do well at breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. I’ve served it with fruit, salad, salmon and also alone. The leftovers keep well in the fridge for a couple of days, too. So, thank you, Shelly, for finding and writing about such a great recipe!

Shelly’s Fluffy Spinach and Feta Quiche

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 6 ounces shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese
  • 2 ounces crumbled feta*
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry**
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion**
  • 1 to 2 cloves garlic, minced**
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (1) 9-inch deep dish unbaked pie shell (sold in the freezer aisle)

*If you don’t like feta, just omit it and add more cheddar instead.

**If you have extra time, you can saute the onion, garlic and some fresh spinach together to use in place of the frozen spinach. Or, you could supplement the frozen spinach with the sauteed mix, which is what I did this time. It’s going to be delicious no matter what you do!

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil.

While the oven preheats, whisk the mayonnaise and milk together in a large bowl until smooth. Whisk in the eggs. Set the bowl aside.

Unwrap your pie shell, then layer the spinach, cheese and onion/garlic in the pie shell, making several layers of each. I used about half of the frozen spinach called for in the recipe, as well as two cups of fresh spinach sauteed with the onion, garlic and some olive oil.

I put down the sauteed mixture first, topped it with frozen spinach, then with cheese, and repeated the layers until I was out of ingredients.

Pour in the egg mixture, then place the quiche on top of the baking sheet.

Spray a piece of foil with cooking spray (DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP! Otherwise, the foil will stick to the top layer of your quiche while baking), then cover the top of the quiche. Slide the baking sheet with quiche on top into the oven. Bake for 45 minutes, then gently remove the foil covering and bake for 10 to 15 minutes more, or until the filling is set, and the quiche is golden brown on top.

Enjoy!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, Beverly! 🙂 I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve made this but your pictures are definitely making me want to do it very, very soon!!!

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | October 10, 2012, 4:30 pm
  2. I make this recipe all the time and I’ve passed it along to others . It is perfect for breakfast, for brunch, for guests, nor not. and I’ve even made it as dinner with soup and salad. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Elise | November 2, 2013, 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

