Bentos, Snacks

TGIF! Lunch and Snack Round-Up

Well, we made it through Jack’s first full week of kindergarten! Woo-hoo. This will be short and sweet, as I have to dash out the door to pick him up, but I wanted to post the snack and lunch from Thursday and Friday before I got caught up in the weekend frenzy. πŸ™‚

For snack yesterday, Jack brought a homemade frozen smoothie (which thawed out by snacktime) and graham cracker sandwiches filled with cream cheese and homemade strawberry jam.

Lunch was chicken curry and rice in a Thermos, with a side of Tuscan cantaloupe balls and sliced strawberries.

Today’s snack was apples and Goldfish:

And lunch, packed in an EasyLunchbox, was a star-shaped PB&J sandwich (with raisins filling in the tiny star cutout), star-shaped cucumber, honey pretzel sticks, tomatoes, vanilla cookies from the Chinese bakery, and strawberries.

In other news, my sugar- and refined-carb-free four weeks is over! I’ll write more about the (great) results next week. Also, my friend Amy issued me a challenge: to write about some freezer-friendly meals, other than casseroles. I think that’s something many of us — with kids AND without kids — could use. So, that’s coming next week as well. Have a great weekend, everyone!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “TGIF! Lunch and Snack Round-Up

  1. Do you do anything to your apples to prevent browning? I want to hear about your no sugar & refined carb eating!

    Posted by Yoshiko | September 14, 2012, 2:11 pm
    • Yoshiko, I don’t, and strangely enough even when there are leftover apples at the end of the day, they don’t look brown. But, I heard that brushing the exposed flesh with lemon juice prevents browning. I think that in the small box, there’s not as much oxygen to turn the apples brown. But that’s just my theory. πŸ™‚ I wrote about my month-long experiment in my recent entry about maple glazed salmon. πŸ™‚ this was nothing compared to how healthy you were eating before you were pregnant with Logan, though!! We will have to get together soon and talk about all this in person.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | September 14, 2012, 2:47 pm
  2. These lunches look great – by the way!

    Posted by Yoshiko | September 14, 2012, 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

