Bentos, Snacks

Mid-Week Snack and Lunch Round-Up

In case you need a little diversion on this hump day, here’s what Jack took to school for lunch and snack the last couple of days.

Tuesday’s snack was a repeat of Monday’s — honey pretzel sticks and a frozen smoothie (thawed out sufficiently by snack time) in a plastic jar, so I didn’t take another picture of it. For lunch, Jack had a leftover roasted chicken leg that had been marinated in Korean BBQ sauce from dinner the previous night, along with two Hawaiian rolls, some fruit and veggies, and two mini banana oat bran chocolate chip muffins for a treat. This was packed in an EasyLunchbox.

Full disclosure: The cucumber slices were supposed to be the caterpillar from The Very Hungry Caterpillar, with the apple wedge as the caterpillar’s head. I was trying to copy something very cool that my friend Tomomi made for her son earlier this week, but alas, I ran out of time packing this (also, precision work is not my forte!), and finally just had to throw the slices and apple into the box. I call it my stylized caterpillar. 😉 Next time, I’ll get it right!

Today’s snack is a reusable silicone muffin cup filled with a stack of three crackers layered with rocket-shaped cheddar cheese. I also included two skewers of diced plum threaded onto plastic toothpicks.

Today’s lunch is some mini sushi rolls filled with Spam and cucumber (so delicious!), blueberries, and some Snapea Crisps. There are rocket- and UFO-shaped pieces of red pepper atop the sushi.

I’m happy to report that Jack has made a friend in kindergarten — the little girl who sits next to him. He said they were working at the Play-Doh table together (I’m sure it was very grueling work ;)), and they were laughing and taking turns nicely with the Play-Doh accessories, so, according to Jack, he said, “Will you be my friend?” And she said yes. This little story melted my heart, not least because it reminded me of when Johnny and I first started dating, and he asked me, “Will you be my girlfriend?” I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree! To be fair, it wasn’t that Johnny was that unsmooth; it was that my 18-year-old self had very strict rules about being asked out, and I told Johnny that if he wanted to go out with me, he had to formally ask me to be his girlfriend. Oh, the mind of a teenager (cue eye roll). Now I laugh, but at the time it was a very, very serious matter. Ha! Anyway, Jack has a friend and says he’s no longer eating by himself at snack time and lunch time — yay!

Oh, and Jack also told me that his teacher told him, “Your mom makes the best snacks and lunches!” I refrained from grilling him on exactly which lunch or snack she was looking at when she said it. I have this not-so-great tendency to ask for any and all details when someone close to me passes on a compliment (“What did she say? How did she say it? What were her exact words? What was the context of the compliment? What was she wearing at the time?” Just kidding on that last one), and I am bound and determined not to let Jack and Derek witness this. Anyway, what a nice thing for his teacher to say; it made me very happy!

Happy Wednesday, everyone! I’ll be back on Friday with the rest of the week’s lunches and snacks.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

