Bentos, Snacks

Let’s Do Lunch (and Snack): First Full Day of Kindergarten!

Jack started kindergarten last week, but the first couple of days were only three hours long, so today’s the first day he’s bringing lunch. He’s excited but a little nervous — he regularly stayed for lunch at preschool, but this is a new environment, with new potential friends, and Jack’s feeling just a bit shy. Last night before bed, Jack strategized about the big day: He decided he would wear his Angry Birds t-shirt because lots of boys wore them last week, and maybe wearing the shirt would “make someone else who likes Angry Birds talk to me.” He also asked for a special lunch, because apparently last week’s crayons drew some attention, leading a few kids to ask Jack if those were real crayons and resulting in a declaration of “those are cool” from the girl who sat next to him. So, this is what I sent him with, packed in an EasyLunchbox:

In the big compartment, we have a Kings Hawaiian hot dog bun, cut into chunks. I cut two hot dogs into four sections each, and out of those eight sections, I created four “octopi” and eight “crab” using this cool tutorial (super easy!). I put some ketchup into the little dip container (wonder why the pig is joyful? Because that’s an all-beef hot dog. Har, har), and included a tiny giraffe fork so Jack can easily pick up the hot dogs. He’s not that keen on eating hot dogs in a bun, so that’s why there’s only one bun for the two hot dogs. I know hot dogs aren’t the most nutritious entree, but they’re something he loves, and on this first day of staying at kindergarten for lunch, I wanted to send something that I know he will eat, even if he’s nervous.

To round out the meal, I included some diced dapple plums, as well as baby carrots and some cool mini heirloom tomatoes. Jack calls the green one a “watermelon tomato.” πŸ˜‰

And here’s the morning snack I sent him with today:

In his Lunchskins reusable snack bag are honey wheat pretzel sticks. In the plastic Ball freezer jar (8 ounce) is a homemade strawberry-banana-yogurt-orange juice smoothie that’s been frozen overnight. I took it out of the freezer this morning, set it in the fridge for a couple of hours, then put it into a bag in Jack’s backpack without an ice pack. By snack time, it will have thawed out enough for Jack to sip with a straw, but still be cold. I packed a straw in the bag, and I instructed Jack to shake the jar vigorously once before opening the lid. I thought these containers were really ideal for packing smoothies for lunch, because they’re freezer-safe and unbreakable. Glass mason jars look way nicer, but they’re heavier for kids to carry, and then there’s the breakage factor — not good for kindergarteners. The only other plastic containers I had were not conducive to sipping (they’re short and squat), or they weren’t totally leakproof, or they were way too big. These work nicely — the lids are leakproof but they just snap on, so I don’t even have to worry that they’re screwed on too tightly. Anyway, Jack was very excited about taking a smoothie to school. Let’s hope his first full-length day of kindergarten goes well!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch (and Snack): First Full Day of Kindergarten!

  1. Very cute! Curious though. Will Jack eat the hot dogs cold? Xander is very picky in this aspect because he wants his hot foods to be hot but they don’t always have the option to heat lunches up. He won’t even do cold pizza. I feel like my options are so limited because of this.

    Posted by Holly W | September 10, 2012, 7:07 am
  2. Jack’s right! It does look like a baby watermelon! Adorable lunch as always. πŸ™‚ If I ever decide to take the plunge into motherhood, I’m copying every single one of your lunches, just FYI. lol

    Posted by Tiffany K. Halliday | September 10, 2012, 10:57 am
  3. I was thinking, “where in the world did Beverly get this teeny-tiny watermelon!?” πŸ˜€ I bought a 3-pack of those plastic Ball jars for my homemade peanut butter but my kids LOVE smoothies so maybe I’ll use them for that, too! Thanks for the great idea πŸ™‚

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | September 11, 2012, 7:58 am
    • Shelly, now I want to get even more of those ball plastic jars. They’re so useful for so many things. I definitely will put homemade peanut butter and homemade nutella in them… When I get around to making those things. It’s high on my list, but somehow I seem to get distracted whenever I think about going to make it. LOL!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | September 11, 2012, 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

