Freezer Friendly, Meals, Snacks

Banana Oat Bran Chocolate Chip Muffins

Now that Jack’s in kindergarten, I’m trying my best to make sure he has a real sit-down breakfast every morning (I’ve talked about this before, but although I love to make sumptuous weekend brunches, weekday breakfasts are my downfall as a chef/mom/person who’s otherwise into good health). Today I decided to make some muffins that would freeze well, so that on harried mornings, I could simply serve a few with some fruit and milk. I tried looking for an awesome banana oat bran chocolate chip muffin recipe that my brother- and sister-in-law sent me the link to a couple of years ago, but sadly I couldn’t find it. However, I did come across this banana oatmeal chocolate chip muffin recipe from Sparkpeople that was quite similar. I made a few substitutions — whole wheat flour instead of white flour, oat bran instead of oatmeal (because I had just the right amount of bran left in the pantry) — and it turned out great.

My kids love the subtle banana flavor and sweetness, and they think the chocolate chips are a real treat, although I’d be surprised if there were more than two or three chips per muffin. For those calorie-counters out there, each regular-sized muffin contains 163 calories (not bad for a muffin!). I love the fact that there’s a lot of fiber and fruit in each muffin. There are easy to make, and they churn out a lot of muffins, especially if you use a mini muffin tin like I did (my boys find it nearly impossible to eat a whole regular-sized muffin, but they can polish off three or four mini ones; must be a perception thing). I froze three-quarters of my 48 mini muffins — hooray for a breakfast stash!

Banana Oat Bran Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes 24 regular-sized or 48 mini muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats or oat bran
  • 1 cup milk (I used 1%)
  • 2 cups flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup sugar*
  • 5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (I omitted this)
  • 1/2 cup margarine, melted and cooled
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cup bananas, mashed (4-5)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

Combine oatmeal or bran and milk in a medium-sized bowl. Set aside.

While the oatmeal (or bran) and milk are getting acquainted, mix flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmet in a large bowl. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Add the melted margarine, eggs, vanilla and mashed bananas to the oatmeal/bran and milk mixture. Stir with a wooden spoon to gently combine.

Pour the wet mixture into the bowl of dry ingredients, and add the chocolate chips. Gently fold everything together with a wooden spoon until the flour is moistened (in other words, don’t over-stir the batter).

Grease or line the muffin tin, then fill the tin and bake for 20 minutes (regular muffins) or 15 to 17 minutes (mini muffins).

Let the muffins cool in the tin for five minutes after they come out of the oven, then remove from the tin and let them cool down on a wire rack. Enjoy!

*For those who are wondering, I did cheat on my month-long no-sugar/refined carbs fast by having literally one bite of the muffin, just so I’d know what my kids were putting into their mouths. Aside from breaking the rules over Labor Day weekend, I’ve done really well! Just 1.5 more weeks to go. So far I feel great and definitely notice a difference in my skin. I’ll write more about the month-long experiment after it’s over. And, I have a great kale and quinoa pasta recipe to share later this week that’s sugar- and refined carb-free.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Banana Oat Bran Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Hey Bev,
    Can I use butter instead of margarine? If I can, would it be the same amount?

    Posted by Christine Roberts | September 9, 2012, 9:39 pm
  2. Love it love it love it, gonna have to try it! I do banana muffins, but this has a healthier take on it, and you sold me on the chocolate chips mama!

    Posted by Heather Grace | September 10, 2012, 7:23 pm
  3. Glad to see you are still saucin’ it up on here! Man, busy when you start children in school for first time….AAAAGHH! LOL 😉

    Posted by Heather Grace | September 10, 2012, 7:25 pm
  4. HI, I’m glad to find your site. it’s very helpful for moms like me. I love the fact that i can freeze some of your recipes coz most of the time it’s just me and my daughter since my husband work out of town. my daughter loves to cook with me but we have a problem eating them all up in one go. i’m just wondering how to defrost these muffins and heat them like newly baked. thanks!!

    Posted by Jingay Alison Gregorio | October 13, 2012, 7:23 am
    • Thanks for your comment! 🙂 I’m so happy you stopped by. As for the muffins, just defrost in fridge overnight, and in the morning, preheat oven or toaster oven to 250, then put the muffins in for 10 min or so. They’ll be like new!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | October 13, 2012, 9:10 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Shelly’s Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins « Cooking, Crafting & Chaos - September 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

