Bentos, Snacks

Let’s Do Lunch: Day One of “Space Camp”

I know many kids are already back in school, but our district doesn’t start until after Labor Day, so I enrolled Jack in a day camp for this week. The theme for this week is space exploration, so half the time, the kids will be learning about planets and space travel, including building and launching little rockets. Jack’s very excited; it’s his first real day camp experience (we did soccer camp last year, but that was only three hours, whereas this is a full 6.5 hours for a whole week). It’s at a local botanical garden, so when the kids aren’t at the science stations indoors, they’ll get to run around on the beautiful grounds. Each day, he’ll need to bring a morning snack, lunch and an afternoon snack. After almost two months without making special bento lunches, I’m extremely happy to have the chance to pack cute food again!

Today’s morning snack was packed in a cute little two-tier box from my local Daiso (Japanese $1.50 store):

The top tier has some grapes and halved strawberries left over from a lovely cookout we had with my brother-in-law and his family yesterday. The bottom tier holds honey wheat pretzel rods from Trader Joe’s and a little container with peanut butter for dipping. I got the dipping container (came in a pack of six) from Daiso, too. Unfortunately, you can’t order online from Daiso unless you’re placing a bulk order, but All Things for Sale, one of my favorite bento supply online retailers, has plenty of mini side dish containers that will fit nicely into bento boxes.

Lunch is packed in one of my trusty Easy Lunchboxes:

The big compartment holds a sandwich that I made from a sweet Hawaiian hamburger bun, roast beef, one tomato slice and some Romaine (the picture makes the sandwich look way bigger than it is!). I cut the sandwich in half and speared each half with a plastic toothpick. The upper left compartment holds green bell pepper strips, cucumber slices, and a bit of cheese cut to look like a mini rocketship mold and star from my space cutter set (space camp, get it?). The smallest compartment holds a bite of leftover chocolate cake, as a treat, with a giraffe pick to use as a fork.

I packed a small afternoon snack because the lunch is relatively big. It’s just Goldfish in a reusable Lunchskins pouch:

I got this at Target. It came with a bigger, sandwich-sized pouch. I’ve long been interested in reusable pouches, so I snatched it up when I saw it at the store. These are food-safe, BPA-free, dishwasher-safe, durable reusable food pouches — a nice alternative to plastic Ziploc bags. The Lunchskins FAQ page gives some good information about their products. Bonus, the set I grabbed at Target didn’t have a price tag on it, I’d forgotten to glance at the price info in the aisle, and the cashier didn’t feel like sending someone back for a price check, so she said, “I’m just going to say these two bags together cost $1.99.” It was only after I got home that I saw that just a snack-sized bag costs $7.85 on the Lunchskins Web site! Oops. By the way, I realize that the pawprints kind of make this look like a pouch for dog treats, but it was either this or a pink pouch, which I liked but Jack vetoed. 😉 (Oh, and for those who are interested, my nail color is two coats of Essie Chinchilly, topped with one coat of Essie luxeffects topcoat in Stroke of Brilliance.)

Thanks for looking! More to come this week, including a post on lunch-packing essentials!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Day One of “Space Camp”

  1. So adorable! Jack is one lucky boy 🙂 I am hoping to get some ispiration so maybe I can make Kenzie some awesome lunches like this !

    Posted by Amanda spivey | August 27, 2012, 8:20 am
  2. looks delicious and so cute! Can you pack my lunches and mail them to VA? 😉

    Posted by Nicole Dreibelbeis (@pinkowlreads) | August 27, 2012, 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

