Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Family Picnic

Jack’s last day of preschool (forever! ::sniff::) was last week, so summer has officially begun for us! Yesterday, we took the rare opportunity of a free weekday morning to visit Johnny at work and have a picnic lunch with him there. The kids were very excited to do this, and Jack helped me assemble our lunches. Here are the boys’ lunches, packed in their Old Navy two-tier bento boxes:

In the big bottom compartment are two roast beef sandwiches on whole wheat Hawaiian rolls. For a touch of whimsy, I punched bear shapes out of the top half of the bread (Jack and Derek happily ate their “bear biscuits” while I was assembling the sandwiches). I used a reusable silicone muffin cup to hold homemade potato salad, then Jack threaded grape tomatoes on some party picks to round out the main course. I also put in a mini spoon that I got at Daiso to use for eating the salad.

The top compartment holds cut-up mango and white nectarine, along with a mini animal pick.

Just for fun, here are some close-ups of the kids’ bento boxes. First, the bottom compartment:

The top compartment:

Johnny and I got pretty much the same food, but I packed ours in my EasyLunchboxes:

We each got two roast beef sandwiches on whole wheat Hawaiian rolls in the main compartment. I used silicone (reusable) baran sheets to divide the main compartment in half, then filled the bottom half with homemade potato salad, with a mini spoon from Daiso placed on top. There are grape tomatoes in the smallest compartment, and wedges of white nectarine in the third compartment.

For dessert, I hastily threw together Nutella-filled strawberries (please see my actual blog entry on that to see a much more beautiful product! I was rushing when I made these).

I packed everything in our insulated Picnic Time Metro basket. It held all our lunch boxes, three ice packs, and four bottles of water, with room to spare. We all had a great time!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “Let’s Do Lunch: Family Picnic

  1. Looks yum!!! 🙂 Need your potato salad recipe. Starting next week, my boys go to summer camp and I have to pack lunch for them for 8 weeks straight. They were always eating cafeteria school lunch the last 3 years. (At least Tristan was)
    I already have some ideas on my menu but will definitely steal some tips from your bento posts! 🙂

    Posted by Tina | June 27, 2012, 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

