Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: “Ham Sushi”

Confession time: I have a soft spot for Spam. It’s delicious in scrambled eggs, in fried rice, and of course, in Spam musubi (in other words, a sushi roll with Spam in the center). I’m pretty good with all forms of processed meat — hot dogs, cocktail wieners, etc. — but my favorite is Spam. We don’t have it too often because, well, it’s laden with sodium and other unsavory ingredients, but I do love it, and so do the boys, Jack in particular. The other day, he asked me very sweetly to make him “ham sushi” (aka Spam sushi), so today, I made him this lunch to take to school in his new three-tier box from Daiso:

In the top tier (the one in the upper left hand corner), there are eight handmade Spam sushi rolls (I have this awesome rice mold from Daiso that makes it super easy — no more rolling sushi on bamboo mats!) and some edamame. The middle tier has strawberries and blueberries, and the bottom tier has watermelon chunks. Just for kicks, here’s a closer look at the compartments.

And there’s the box all stacked together, with a bento belt holding it together:

I think Jack will be very surprised to open his lunch and see his beloved ham sushi! I wish I could be there to see his reaction. 🙂

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: “Ham Sushi”

  1. My kids would love this. Do you have to cook the ham first or do you put it in raw (more like straight from the can? I know spam is already cooked). Also what is the rice mold you used? I’m horrible with those bamboo mats.

    Posted by Tina | May 22, 2012, 2:08 pm
    • No, I just used it straight from the can. If I were serving it immediately after making, i would pan fry it first to crisp up the outside a bit. But, since Jack’s lunch is eaten cold at school, I didn’t bother. As for the mold, it’s just a tube-shaped mold split into two halves lengthwise that I got at Daiso … you fill up one half, the press the top half onto it, then unmold the rice tube onto a sheet of seaweed. It really takes the guesswork out of sushi rolling! I could ship you two different roll sizes if you want! They’re only $1.50/apiece.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 22, 2012, 3:02 pm
      • Crispy spam + rice + seaweed sounds so yummy, I would have never thought of that. If you can link me to the rice mold I could buy it myself… I was unable to find the daiso one you are referring to on Amazon. I don’t want you to have to go through the trouble shipping it to me.

        Posted by Tina | May 22, 2012, 7:49 pm
  2. Tina, it’s not Daiso brand (I don’t think anything is…they just sell the stuff). The one I have is this: http://www.amazon.com/Japan-Sushi-Roll-Maker-Small/dp/B001I2PQ1C/ref=sr_1_28?ie=UTF8&qid=1337742082&sr=8-28 I used this size to make the small rolls pictured here. I also got the large one: http://www.amazon.com/Sushi-Mold-L-8581-Large-Maker/dp/B001QCKH6S/ref=pd_sim_k_3 In the store, I got these for a total of $3. Oh, wait, you could buy this set of small and large: http://www.amazon.com/Rice-Mold-Set-Hosomaki-Futomaki/dp/B002TZ04I2/ref=sr_1_40?ie=UTF8&qid=1337742192&sr=8-40 $7.56 and it’s eligible for Amazon Prime, so free shipping if you have Prime.

    Really, I don’t mind shipping to my friends…I’ve already done it twice! 🙂

    Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 22, 2012, 8:07 pm
    • been meaning to tell you, I found these molds at H-Mart in flushing for $3 each. Not as cheap as Daiso but I picked up a small one. Cant wait to try it out.

      Posted by Tina | May 29, 2012, 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

