Desserts, Freezer Friendly

Pound Cake

I love, love, love the versatility of pound cake. It’s good on its own, with ice cream, or as breakfast (yes, as a child, I regularly had slices of Sara Lee pound cake with milk as breakfast. What? Is it any worse than a muffin or a croissant?). I’ve made a few over the years, but my favorite is from the Best Recipe Cookbook. It’s relatively easy, and the resulting cake is moist, not overly sweet, and just the right combination of fluffy and dense. The one I made yesterday for dessert when my brother-in-law and sister-in-law came over for dinner is almostΒ  gone now. So, really, the sensible thing to do would be to make two. πŸ˜‰

Best Recipes Cookbook Pound Cake

Makes one loaf

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 and 1/3 cups sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1.5 teaspoons water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large eggs plus three large egg yolks, at room temperature
  • 1.5 cups cake flour
  • A loaf pan
  • Parchment or wax paper

With a mixer (handheld is fine; that’s what I always use), beat the butter until it’s smooth and shiny, about 15 seconds.

While the beater is still on, sprinkle in the sugar (the original recipe says to add the sugar over the course of 30 seconds, but you don’t have to be precise about it). Mix the sugar and butter at medium-high speed until the mixture is fluffy and almost white, about 4 or 5 minutes.

In a large (two-cup capacity) measuring cup, mix together the eggs, vanilla extract and water. While the mixer (or beater) is on, slowly pour the egg mixture into the butter/sugar mixture in a steady stream.

Once the egg and butter/sugar are incorporated, beat in the salt. Turn off the mixer. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Sift a half cup of the cake flour onto the surface of the batter. With a spatula, gently fold the flour into the batter, mixing from the bottom up. Once incorporated, repeat with another half cup of flour and fold into the batter. Repeat once more with the last half cup of flour.

Grease the loaf pan with cooking spray, then line it with two sheets of wax or parchment paper (one lengthwise across the pan, the other width wise).

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, using a spatula to smooth the top. If you’re using wax paper (instead of parchment paper), trim off much of the excess wax paper overhang after you’ve poured in the batter. Otherwise, the wax paper will burn in the oven, creating a horrible, acrid odor. Ew!

Bake in the preheated oven for 70 to 80 minutes, or until a toothpick or fork inserted into the crack that forms along the top of the cake comes out almost clean. Remove from the oven and let the cake cool in the pan for 5 minutes.

After 5 minutes, lift the cake out of the pan (using the parchment or wax paper overhang as handles), and let it cool completely on a wire rack. When the cake is cool, peel off the paper.

Serve immediately, or wrap in two layers of plastic wrap, then wrap in aluminum foil, and store at room temperature for up to five days.

Enjoy!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Pound Cake

  1. Mmmm πŸ™‚

    Posted by The Sundress Chef | May 21, 2012, 12:13 pm
  2. That looks fantastic–absolutely divine. My Granddaddy definitely would have said, “This is the best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth!” He said that all the time, but I can tell this would have for sure made him say it with gusto and really mean it :). He really would have loved you, Beverly.
    Will have to try your recipe. (And find mine.) Gotta say, though, that any piece of pound cake crossing my lips has to be warm and dripping with butter. That last picture, though, looks sooooooo good!!!!!

    Posted by Ann | May 21, 2012, 3:15 pm
    • Aww, Ann, thank you for saying your grandfather would have loved me. I would have loved him too, I’m sure. ❀

      I really want to try your recipe. Please find and email it to me. I won't share it bc it's so special to you and your family, but I sure want to try it!!

      I've never put butter on my pound cake. Sounds decadent … I'll have to try it!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 21, 2012, 3:30 pm
      • I’ll do you one better, and I don’t mind at all if you share (if you want to.) Once my brain starts acting normally again (migraine came back tonight) I’ll email you the recipes for my favorite pound cake and for the pound cake that *I* was always famous for making–my chocolate pound cake. Just please make my brain calm down. Make this stop. 😦

        Posted by Ann | May 21, 2012, 5:33 pm
      • Of course I’d love to share … Would even love it if you wrote guest post #2. We’ll call you Ann, Queen of Decadent Baked Goods. πŸ˜‰ I’m so sorry to hear the migraine is back! 😦

        Posted by Saucy Mommy | May 21, 2012, 6:37 pm
  3. Have to try this!!!!

    Btw, as a kid I was always fascinated with frozen sara lee pound cakes. They are frozen but never too hard to slice.

    Posted by Tina | May 22, 2012, 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

