Meals

Creamy Quinoa with Brown Sugar and Fruit

When our friend Christina was visiting last month, she mentioned that she sometimes makes a yummy quinoa dish with fruit for breakfast. At the time, I had never heard of using quinoa for a sweet breakfast dish — I was only accustomed to it as an ingredient for savory sides or entrees for lunch or dinner. (After some research, I now know that breakfast quinoa has been en vogue for some time; I guess I’ve been living in a cave!) Christina said it was really easy, and that the recipe called for raspberries, bananas and some soy milk on the side. I was intrigued and asked her to email me the recipe when she got home. As always, Christina is true to her word, and this weekend, I tried the recipe.

I admit that I had my doubts, but this was delicious! Everyone knows about the health benefits of quinoa by now, so I won’t go into how this breakfast was full of wonderful nutrients. I was surprised by how yummy this was — the bananas and splash of soy milk added a wonderful creaminess, the golden raisins and small amounts of brown sugar and maple syrup contributed sweetness, and the slight crunch of the quinoa grains lent an unexpected but much-appreciated texture (my complaint about oatmeal is that, after two or three bites, I start to feel like I’m eating baby food). Johnny raved about it, and even the kids liked it. This will be a regular on my breakfast rotation — it’s perfect for weekdays because it only takes about 15 minutes to throw together.

It’s worth mentioning that this recipe is very versatile. If you don’t like raisins, don’t put them in. If you would prefer to use other types of fruit, by all means, substitute them in place of the raspberries and bananas (you’ll see that I used blueberries and strawberries instead of the raspberries). You can also serve it with almond milk, coconut milk or regular milk instead of soy milk. Enjoy!

Breakfast Quinoa With Raisins, Blueberries and Bananas

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients

1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup water
1 tablespoon packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup golden raisins, if desired
Raspberries and bananas (or any other type of fruit)
Soy milk, almond milk or other dairy-free milk (if you want to keep it vegan; if not, you can use regular milk)

Instructions

Place quinoa in fine-mesh strainer and rinse well under cold running water. (I don’t have a fine-mesh strainer, so I skipped this step.) Transfer quinoa to small saucepan. Add in water, brown sugar, maple syrup and cinnamon, and bring the mixture to a boil.

Reduce heat; simmer, covered, for 10-15 minutes, or until quinoa is tender, and water is absorbed. Add raisins, if desired, for the last 5 minutes of cooking time.

Top quinoa with fruit. Serve with your choice of milk.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “Creamy Quinoa with Brown Sugar and Fruit

  1. This looks delicious!

    Posted by eclecticlamb | April 16, 2012, 11:33 am

Leave a Reply

