Bentos, Holidays

Let’s Do Lunch: Hop To It!

Easter’s only five days away, so of course I had to send Jack to school with a bunny-themed lunch today. I totally copied the Hoppy Friday lunch from Keeley McGuire, who always makes beautiful lunches for her daughter (thank you for the inspiration, Keeley!). Mine didn’t turn out as nicely, but Jack could tell they were bunnies when I showed him his lunch this morning, so, as far as I’m concerned, mission accomplished! This is packed in an EasyLunchbox.

In the main compartment, we have two bunnies made from peanut butter-filled sandwich balls (click on the bold link for a tutorial). I made each bunny with one 3″ sandwich ball and two 1.5″ sandwich balls (one slice of bread makes one bunny). I cut the ears from the bread scraps and used food markers to draw the details. On top of the bunnies are silicone muffin cups filled with carrot and celery sticks. (Jack commented that he would be sure to “pretend-feed” the veggies to the bunnies before eating them.)

The top left compartment is filled with strawberries and clementine wedges with a bunny pick, and the bottom left compartment contains a peeled, hard-boiled “Easter egg” decorated with food markers.

I also have two bonus lunches to show you today. While Jack’s in school, I’m meeting up with my sister-in-law, Victoria, and four-year-old niece at Irvine Regional Park for a picnic. Victoria’s bringing food for us, and I’m in charge of the kids’ lunches (yay!). Here’s Maddy’s lunch, packed in a two-tiered box:

She has sliced strawberries with a giraffe pick in the top tier. The bottom tier holds some Goldfish, mozzarella cheese chunks (a string cheese that I cut up into squares), and some ham roll-ups.

Derek also has a two-tiered box:

One tier holds an Easter-egg shaped sandwich (filled with Nutella and decorated with food markers), strips of orange bell pepper, and ham roll-ups in a silicone muffin cup. The other tier holds sliced strawberries and a little fork I got at Daiso.

We’re off to enjoy this sunny spring day!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Hop To It!

  1. omgosh! i’m so flattered because you KNOW i love your lunches and recipes, Beverly! thanks for the shout out. ๐Ÿ™‚
    i LOVE how yours turned out ~ so perfect for Easter/ Spring time!!
    Love the colorful eggs too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Keeley McGuire | April 3, 2012, 7:09 am
    • Keeley, I’m so glad you saw this!!! I was going to tag you on FB, but for whatever reason, my Saucy Mommy page won’t let me tag people! I’ll have to figure it out later. Anyway, every time I see one of your lunches, I’m inspired!! They’re so beautiful. Springtime is a fun time to make bentos — so many colors, animals, plants to emulate in lunch format! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | April 3, 2012, 7:15 am
  2. Okay, my oldest daughter is saying how smart you are! I agree, how on earth you got my daughter to say “Yum” when looking at veggies I have no idea. Now, where do you get food markers?

    Posted by Heather Grace | April 5, 2012, 8:17 am
    • Aww, thank you! I replied on FB, but just in case, you can get Wilton brand food markers at any craft store, like Michael’s or Jo-Ann. However, they don’t work on chocolate, so I also ordered Americolor brand ones off of Amazon.com. Hope that helps!

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | April 5, 2012, 8:36 am
      • Totally helps mama! I can get the Wilton now, and order the others, just use the Wilton in the meantime. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Posted by Heather Grace | April 5, 2012, 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

