Desserts, Snacks

Frozen Yogurt Dots

Last week, my friend Jenn K. (the one who sent me one of my favorite recipes ever, the kale and two-bean soup) told me about something she’d seen on Pinterestfrozen yogurt dots. You put yogurt, any flavor, into a disposable icing bag or plastic zip-top bag with a corner snipped off, squeeze dots of yogurt onto a baking sheet, freeze the baking sheet, and voila! A few hours later, you have cute little frozen yogurt dots with which to top a fruit salad, offer up as a treat to the kids, or decorate ice cream sundaes. These sounded so cute that I was itching to try them. I’m pleased to say that they’re as easy and adorable as I’d imagined, and they taste pretty darn good, too.

Frozen Yogurt Dots (from One Good Thing By Jillee)

Ingredients/Materials

  • Yogurt, any flavor (I used strawberry)
  • Disposable icing bag or plastic zip-top bag
  • Baking sheet
  • Wax paper, if desired (I found it easier to peel the frozen dots off the wax paper, but the original recipe didn’t use any wax paper at all to line the baking sheet)

Instructions

Fill the icing bag or plastic bag with some yogurt. Snip a tiny bit off the tip of the icing bag or the corner of the zip-top bag. Squeeze out yogurt dots on the baking sheet. I found it worked best if the tip of the bag made contact with the baking sheet — I could then make more carefully controlled circles.

Once you’ve used up the yogurt, slide the baking sheet into the freezer. Wait a few hours, then enjoy your frozen yogurt dots!

I sliced some strawberries and bananas, then topped them with the dots for the kids, who enjoyed the “ice cream disks.” Tee-hee!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Frozen Yogurt Dots

  1. SO CUTE! I love all things frozen. Got a bunch of yogurt in my fridge that would go a lot faster if I froze it! LOL

    Posted by Sandra | March 29, 2012, 9:06 am
  2. I had never heard of this. So wonderful! I need to try this.

    Posted by eclecticlamb | March 29, 2012, 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

