Appetizers and Sides

Bloomin’ Onion Bread

Our friend Christina arrived this afternoon for a short visit, and aside from anticipating her wonderful company, I was also excited for the opportunity to make one of my favorite, extremely sinful recipes: Bloomin’ Onion Bread, courtesy of the great food blog The Girl Who Ate Everything. (She notes that her source was a Changeable Table recipe.) It’s a sourdough round that’s stuffed with monterey jack cheese, drizzled with butter, green onions and poppy seeds, then baked until gooey, buttery perfection. It’s the type of thing I refuse to make unless we have company, because otherwise I’d weigh 300 pounds.

This bread only takes 15 minutes or so to put together before it’s ready to bake, and it disappears fast! I like it best with a light soup (I made kale and two-bean soup to go with it; each bite of the bloomin’ onion bread probably has more calories than a whole bowl of the soup!), but it would also make a great appetizer or potluck contribution.

Bloomin’ Onion Bread (from The Girl Who Ate Everything)

Ingredients

  • 1 unsliced loaf sourdough bread (I like the round shape)
  • 12-16 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup finely diced green onion
  • 2 teaspoons poppy seeds

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. While the oven is heating, cut the bread lengthwise and widthwise without cutting through the bottom crust.

Place the bread on a foil-lined baking sheet. Insert cheese slices between cuts. (You may have to tear some of the cheese slices in half to fit.) Combine butter, onion, and poppy seeds. Drizzle over bread.

Cover the bread in foil (be sure to grease the foil first so it doesn’t stick to the cheese when you remove it), then slide the baking sheet into the oven. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Unwrap the bread and bake 10 more minutes, or until cheese is melted. I think my oven runs cool, but I had to bake it for 20 minutes with the foil on, then 15 minutes with it off, for all the cheese to be melted.

Enjoy!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Bloomin’ Onion Bread

  1. I have to make this… HAVE to make this…. oh my goodness, sheer brilliance. I’m drooling. My boyfriend is going to LOVE you Beverly!!!

    Posted by Nicole | March 12, 2012, 7:36 pm
  2. As my husband said when I showed him this post, “that is shocking!” So of course I’ll have to try it 🙂

    Posted by Gina Capodanno | March 12, 2012, 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

