Bentos, Et Cetera

New Lunch-Making Supplies

A Daiso (an awesome Japanese chain that sells bento supplies, kitchenware and all sorts of other home goods for just $1.50 apiece) opened near my house this week, and I eagerly checked it out last night. It’s no wonder that friends who live near Daiso stores have raved about it — I wanted to move in, that’s how awesome it was. I didn’t have long to shop, so I concentrated my efforts in the bento section of the store. There was an entire wall and two aisles worth of adorable lunch-making supplies, and that was only about 10% of the store. I went at 8:30 p.m., and the store was still hopping. My friend told me that earlier in the day, the line was around the block. I’m sure this is all just grand opening hype, but still, Daiso lived up to my high expectations!

For just $40.98, I got all this new bento-making equipment:

Insane, right?! Previously, it was hard to find this stuff in brick-and-mortar stores around me, and even if I did find it, it was way more than $1.50. I ordered a lot of stuff from All Things For Sale, J-List and Amazon, which are awesome Web sites, but again, many times the prices, though fair, were double what they are at Daiso. Well, now I can just drive 10 minutes and get 95% of what I need at a lower price. Score! (Can you tell I’m excited about this?) Here’s the breakdown of what I purchased:

Cutters/Molds: I purchased two more hard-boiled egg molds (currently, I have a fish and a car), a sandwich cutter that makes four different types of vehicles, and a set of space-themed mini cutters. These are fun for shaping little pieces of cheese, fruit or ham to lay on top of fried rice, fruit salads or sandwiches.

Boxes, bags and bands: I got two insulated lunch bags with a drawstring closure (seriously, $1.50 each!) that are big enough for a bento box, a snack-sized box, and a water bottle. I also got an assortment of lunch-sized and snack-sized boxes (some with multiple tiers and dividers), and three lunchbox bands (to help containers stay tightly closed and add an extra touch of cuteness to the box).

Utensils/picks: I also got a package of 8 durable plastic Chinese-style spoons — they’re perfect for scooping up all sorts of rice and soup dishes, some mini forks and spoons for fruit salads and other side dishes, music-themed picks (SO CUTE!), a pen-style food carving knife for detail work, and, randomly enough, a crab-shaped mini cutting board for all those times when I just need to cut up one apple, a few celery sticks, or one small wedge of cheese for the kids.

Various dividers/side dish cups: Finally, I got quite a few reusable silicone or plastic dividers and side dish cups, perfect for inserting into bento boxes. I love that some of them will even fit into corners. The cute squirrel ones in the second picture are disposable, but they were too cute not to buy. I also purchased a package of baran sheets.

I’m feeling very inspired by all this great stuff — I’ll be incorporating it into my weekly lunch posts for sure!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “New Lunch-Making Supplies

  1. Yay! I love having Daiso stores nearby! Your first trip looks a lot like mine was (though I think you were a tad more conservative…ahem). Enjoy all your new goodies!

    Posted by Wendy | March 11, 2012, 12:12 pm
    • Wendy, you know, I first heard about Daiso stores by reading about it on your blog! 🙂 I wanted to move in there, seriously. I actually put back half my basket before checking out. The store is less than two minutes from my older son’s preschool, which will be very dangerous for me. 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | March 11, 2012, 12:30 pm
  2. Oh I’m SO jealous! I love All Things For Sale but it would be so much nicer to be somewhere “hands on.”

    Posted by karen | March 11, 2012, 1:42 pm
  3. i am so jealous as well.. i need you to do some serious shopping for me 🙂

    Posted by Lauren | March 13, 2012, 10:31 am
  4. I went checking on Bing under “Daiso” and it looks like at http://www.daisojapan.com you can order these items….I’m going shopping!

    Posted by Malea C | March 23, 2012, 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

