Bentos, Holidays, Snacks

Let’s Do Lunch: Over the Rainbow

I intended to make a St. Patrick’s Day lunch for Jack today, but my shamrock cookie cutter is still on its way, so instead, this week’s lunch features only the rainbow part of the St. Patrick’s Day theme. This is packed in a two-tier animal lunch box from Old Navy.

The bottom tier holds a salami and cheese sandwich on a sweet Hawaiian mini sub roll, a reusable muffin cup full of Goldfish crackers, and two graham cracker sandwiches (spread with the leftover cream cheese filling from Monday’s cheesecake-stuffed strawberries). The top tier is a fruit salad rainbow:

R Strawberries
O Clementine orange wedges
Y Pineapple chunks
G Halved green grapes (I cut them for ease of arranging; Jack’s past the choking hazard stage now)
B Blueberries
I Also blueberries (I guess that’s cheating, but I couldn’t think of an indigo fruit)
V Halved red grapes

Also, I would like everyone to back me up on this: In elementary school, you learned the acronym “ROY G. BIV” to help you remember the order of the colors of the rainbow, right? A few years ago, when I mentioned “Roy G. Biv” casually in conversation, my husband looked at me like I was crazy. I said, “You know? The acronym for the colors of the rainbow?” He replied, “What? I’ve never heard of this. You’re making this up!” Then, “Who needs an acronym to help them remember the colors of the rainbow?” Since then, I’ve tried to convince him that he‘s in the minority for not knowing this acronym. Perhaps fancy-schmancy private schools don’t rely on him, but those of us who came up through public school know Mr. Biv well. šŸ˜‰

And, just because I love it so much, one more picture of the rainbow.

Derek and I are headed to an indoor playground for a playdate this morning, so I also packed him a rainbow-themed snack. He is so excited to get a box of his own!

I hope everyone’s having a great week! More colorful St. Patrick’s Day goodies are coming next week.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Over the Rainbow

  1. So cute and healthy! Xander would LOVE a fruit rainbow.
    and yes, me and my public school self know Roy G. Biv well šŸ™‚ Couldn’t get through the rainbow without him!

    Posted by Holly W | February 29, 2012, 6:34 am
  2. Public school grad here… I didn’t learn it as part of school, but a classmate taught it to me in 6th grade. So even if he didn’t learn it in school, it’s DEFINITELY weird that he didn’t learn it somewhere along the way prior to this!!!

    Posted by Kelly | February 29, 2012, 6:42 am
  3. I’ve never heard of Roy G Biv – Maybe Canadian public schools are different? For what its worth my husband had never heard of the BRAT diet for when you are sick and thought I was making that up!!!

    Posted by Tiffany | February 29, 2012, 6:52 am
  4. Hubby has heard of Roy G Biv though šŸ˜‰

    Posted by Tiffany | February 29, 2012, 6:53 am
  5. Sorry, Bev, I’ve never heard of Roy G. Biv until reading your post and I only ever went to public schools. I love the fruit rainbow. We just got my son his first bento box, and he loves to look at your posts for ideas.

    Posted by Katie | February 29, 2012, 6:59 am
  6. Love the lunch and Derek’s snack…and Shaun, myself and Roy G. Biv go way back! šŸ™‚ Aidan would love a rainbow fruit salad but Hannah doesn’t like pineapple. I think you should take a FB poll on Roy G. Biv because this kind of astonishes me!

    Posted by Shelly | February 29, 2012, 7:05 am
  7. Loving the rainbow! It is just beautiful, and so well done.

    Posted by Corey @ Family Fresh Meals | February 29, 2012, 9:25 am
  8. So pretty and colorful!! And yes we learned Roy G. Biv and they are still teaching it in the schools too šŸ™‚

    Posted by Jenn | February 29, 2012, 10:36 am
  9. I learned Roy G. Biv in Mich. public schools. Also Brat diet as a new mom. M says it was taught in Fla. too, but he didn’t know about the brat diet. I guess I took care of sick babies.

    Posted by Sus Baker | February 29, 2012, 10:50 am
  10. I know Roy g. biv and I went to fancy pants private schools my whole life! but I said it to Dan before (for my chanel multi colored extravaganza) and he asked ‘what’s that?’ he had the socal public school education like you.

    Posted by jennell | February 29, 2012, 5:25 pm
  11. great pictures! Yes to Roy G. Biv. private/public mix. šŸ™‚

    Posted by amy dennis | March 1, 2012, 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

