Appetizers and Sides, Snacks

Crispy Roasted Chickpeas — So Addictive!

The other night, I made the crispy roasted chickpeas from Steamy Kitchen (another of my go-to food blogs), and oh.my.goodness. They are so yummy and so addictive. I made two cans’ worth of roasted chickpeas, and I had to stop myself from gobbling all of them. I’m not a huge fan of chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans), but in roasted form — wow. They’re super easy to make (this may not be a good thing, given how much I like them!), and you can vary the flavor each time by putting different herbs or spices on them.

These make an excellent snack or alternative to chips when you’re having sandwiches. Given that the only ingredients are garbanzo beans, olive oil, salt and whatever seasonings strike your fancy, they’re pretty healthy, as long as you don’t drown them in oil and salt.

Crispy Roasted Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)

Ingredients

I recommend you double the ingredients, because one batch is really not enough!

  • One 15-ounce can garbanzo beans
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt
  • Spices (I used garlic powder. Not garlic salt, just garlic powder)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Meanwhile, drain the can of garbanzo beans into a colander and rinse well with water. Put a paper towel on a baking sheet, then dump the beans onto it. Use a second paper towel to rub the beans. You want to get them as dry as possible.

If you notice skin coming off the beans, you can either remove the skins or leave them on; it doesn’t matter. After drying the beans as much as possible, remove the paper towel from beneath them, so that the beans are just on the baking sheet. Next, drizzle the oil over the beans, then stir the beans around so they’re coated with oil.

Slide the baking sheet into the oven and roast for 30-40 minutes, until they’re crispy and golden. Remove the baking sheet from the oven, then sprinkle generously with salt and whichever spice(s) you’re using.

Transfer to a serving dish or airtight container. Voila! Delicious snack, ready to pop into your mouth. πŸ™‚

Some spice ideas, besides garlic powder, are Cajun or Creole seasoning, lime juice and chili powder, curry powder, or just seasoned salt. The possibilities are endless!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Crispy Roasted Chickpeas — So Addictive!

  1. Oh, those look good! Shaun is not a fan of beans, of any kind, but it’s a texture thing with him so he might enjoy roasted chickpeas πŸ™‚ I am a fan of plain ol’ chickpeas and just looking at your pics of the roasted ones makes my mouth water. Gonna have to try!

    Posted by Shelly | February 24, 2012, 5:46 am
  2. I’m trying this one! Thanks!

    Posted by Bobbi | February 24, 2012, 7:34 am
  3. I just tried roasted chickpeas for the first time yesterday, and they are SOOO good!! I found a new addicting snack that is way healthier than chips πŸ™‚

    Posted by recimplicity | February 25, 2012, 5:12 pm
  4. I added spices before going in oven didn’t read before I did it will they be ok?

    Posted by Jan | November 27, 2013, 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

