Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Kalua Pork Sub Sandwich

I made slow cooker kalua pork again last night (it was so popular with my gang that Jack requested I  make it again!), so I sent Jack to school with a sandwich made from some of the leftovers. There’s no theme to his lunch this week, but I still think this meal, packed in an Easylunchbox, is pretty appealing.

The large compartment holds some shredded kalua pork on a Kings Hawaiian sweet mini sub roll (found those at the store for the first time – so soft and delicious! Just like the original Kings Hawaiian rolls, but in sub sandwich form :)). I used two “party toothpicks” to hold the sandwich together. On top of the sandwich, there’s a silicone muffin cup filled with strawberries, with a ring of clementine orange wedges around the edges. I cut some celery and carrot sticks to fit next to the fruit cup.

The upper right hand compartment has another silicone muffin cup with a boiled egg shaped with a fish-shaped egg mold. I colored parts of the fish with my food markers. Surrounding the fish are Goldfish crackers (big fish in a small pond, get it?). Here’s a close-up of the fish:

Finally, we have cinnamon sugar graham cracker sections for a treat in the bottom righthand compartment. Yum!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Kalua Pork Sub Sandwich

  1. Love Kings Hawaiian rolls and I’m definitely gonna have to try that pork soon! Every time I see a post with a cute lunch for Jack, it makes me want to purchase some Easylunchboxes for the kids…I’ll get there eventually 😉

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | February 23, 2012, 10:55 am
  2. I was just thinking about making the Kalua Pork the other day. Do you think I can just leave the crock pot on high for 8 hrs and still get the same results? I dunno that I can stand 16 hours of smelling that in my house and not cheating and taking a bite haha

    Posted by Kanako | February 23, 2012, 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

