Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: May The Force Be With You

Johnny recently advised me to make Jack’s lunches “cool,” as opposed to “cute,” in preparation for possible teasing in kindergarten next year. My response was, “What? Five-year-olds don’t know what’s ‘cool’!” Alas, it appears I was mistaken. The four- and just-turned-five-year-old boys in Jack’s preschool class are really into Star Wars. I’m perplexed by this — I, a reasonably intelligent 31-year-old, still don’t really understand Star Wars. Johnny’s a big fan, and he’s tried to get me into it (I didn’t watch it as a child), but I’ve fallen asleep at every attempt. Fighting in space … snore (I know that’s not what it’s all about,  but that and “Luke, I am your father” are all I remember from my failed Star Wars viewings). Apparently the preschooler set is more sophisticated than I am! Jack isn’t quite at Star Wars fandom yet; he loves Octonauts and other Disney Junior cartoons (those are more my scene. I love those shows! I watched Nick Jr. shows until an embarrassingly old age), but because his BFF lives for Star Wars, he’s delighted when he sees Yoda, storm troopers, Darth Vader, light sabers, etc. In an effort to “coolify” his lunch this week, I broke out my Star Wars cookie cutters. This is packed in an Easy Lunchbox.

In the large compartment, wedged between some crudites, are Yoda and Darth Vader (I think; it’s hard to tell between that cutter and the Storm Trooper cutter. Yes, yes, as a mom of two boys, and as an American citizen, I should brush up on my Star Wars knowledge) salami and cheese sandwiches. The top righthand corner compartment holds dried cranberries, and the bottom compartment has sliced strawberries and clementine wedges skewered by light saber cupcake picks. Pretty cool lunch, if I say so myself! Jack reports that his friends all wanted to see his lunch today, and that when they asked how he got Star Wars sandwiches, he told them, “My mommy made them. She can tell your mommy how to do it if you want.” LOL.

p.s. For those die-hard Star Wars fans out there, Williams-Sonoma now makes Star Wars sandwich cutters (not just the cookie cutters I used), which come with a Star Wars lunchbox.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: May The Force Be With You

  1. Oh my goodness! Aidan gets so excited about Star Wars stuff now because they’re always showing the Star Wars: Episode One commercial because it’s back in theaters. Last summer he had an old school Star Wars t-shirt and my friends’ son has a toy lightsaber that he loves (or “lightsaver” as Aidan calls it). Very COOL lunch! I really gotta get my butt in gear and start doing lunches like this and one of my first supplies is gonna be lightsaber picks 🙂

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | February 16, 2012, 5:48 pm
  2. That is so cute! I think my husband would like that lunch, haha! He is a big Star Wars fan too, and I have to say they have definitely grown on me. I still prefer to geek out over Harry Potter, but I think the SW movies are pretty fun too. At the library (where I work) the Star Wars books are crazy popular with boys of all ages. Good job!

    Posted by Nicole Dreibelbeis (@pinkowlreads) | February 16, 2012, 7:15 pm
  3. This is FAB!! Thank you 🙂 LOL – I’m an American too and I saw one Star Wars movie about 35 years ago (yes, dating myself). I know probably less than you about all things Yoda….. 😉

    Posted by Kelly Lester of EasyLunchboxes | February 16, 2012, 11:36 pm
  4. Yup! My Jack just finished up a phase where he HAD to have R2-D2 and C3PO-shaped sandwiches every single day “because they’re friends.” Do you have the SW cookie cutters that are shaped like the, um, flying things? Starships? Whatever. Sorry, Johnny. The boys know more about SW than I do. 😉

    Posted by Ann | February 17, 2012, 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

