Snacks

Snack Time: Fruity Fun With Flowers

All right, so the title of the entry is a bit lame, but the other day, I made a super cute (if I do say so myself) snack for Jack and Derek, and I wanted to share it. I didn’t even intend to put together something special. I wanted to give them the nutty cereal balls I’d made in the morning, along with some berries. As I pulled the fruit out of the fridge, it occurred to me that I could make a nifty little scene with the help of a flower-shaped silicone muffin cup:

I tossed half a handful of blueberries into the muffin cup, then topped it with chopped strawberries (there are about four berries in there), and put a few more blueberries in the center of the “flower.” The cereal balls make up the stem, and granny smith apple wedges are the leaves. Just for kicks, I also cut birds out of cheddar cheese with this mini cutter set. This didn’t take much more time than it would have to just set the stuff out on the table, and the boys were delighted. They both spent a while playing out various scenarios with the birds before gobbling up everything. As they chomped away, they made a big deal out of declaring that the flower was disappearing (“Oh, no! I just ate the leaves!!!! Ooooh, there goes the stem! I’m a big dinosaur, eating up all the plants! Garrr!”). So much fun!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Snack Time: Fruity Fun With Flowers

  1. I love your creativity with your sons’ snacks and lunches!!! This is adorable and I think it’s so great that they got to use their imaginations while eating 🙂 I’m gonna have to make the nutty cereal balls soon because Aidan is going through a phase of not wanting to eat dinner so I’d like to get as much good stuff into him during the day as possible!

    Posted by Cooking, Crafting & Chaos | February 6, 2012, 7:09 am
  2. BEAUTIFUL snack. The colors are gorgeous! My girls would love love love this!

    Posted by Corey @ Family Fresh Meals | February 6, 2012, 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

