Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Curry Rice and a Fruit Box

For the first time, I sent Jack to school today with a warm lunch. I know this is nothing new for veteran lunch packers, but it’s new territory for me! Even I have to make fun of myself for how excited I am. 😉 I made Japanese curry with chicken and vegetables for dinner the other night, and Jack asked if he could take the leftovers to school. It’s one of his favorite meals, so I wasn’t surprised by his request. Eager for the excuse to purchase some new lunch equipment, I said yes, then picked up this 10-oz Thermos food jar at Target the next day. To round out the meal, I also packed a snack box with fruit and a treat:

The snack box has clementine orange wedges, blueberries and strawberries, threaded on Valentine picks. The treat is cinnamon graham crackers, with a thin layer of cream cheese spread in between. I separated the fruit and the cracker sandwich with a baran sheet. The snack box itself is kind of cool, too. I can’t find a link to the exact product online, but I picked it up at Target, too. It’s by Aladdin, and there’s a thin reusable ice pack that snaps onto the underside of the lid, so it keeps the contents cool without you having to put an ice pack in the lunch bag itself — great for days when you’re sending warm food!

Speaking of warm food, I followed the commonly-given tip to keep the Thermos contents warm (and safe for consumption) until lunch time. First, I heated up the food until it was piping hot. Second, I filled the Thermos with hot water (hot tap water is fine, but I filled it with hot water from my electric kettle), screwed on the lid, and let the hot water sit in there for 5-10 minutes. Then, I emptied the water and filled the Thermos immediately with the hot food. That’s all there is to it! Jack’s super excited about his “warm, big boy lunch” today. We’ll see if he actually eats all of it!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Curry Rice and a Fruit Box

  1. Love the heart-topped fruit kebabs, so sweet 🙂

    Posted by Cristi | February 3, 2012, 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

