Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Pinwheels

Jack’s recently become receptive to tortillas, which opens up a whole new avenue of lunchbox food: pinwheels! (You can’t really blame him for not liking tortillas previously; I’m not a fan of them, so we don’t often have them in the house.) For this week’s school lunch, I took a break from the usual sandwich and instead put this together in my trusty Easy Lunchbox:

For the pinwheels, I spread a thin layer of cream cheese on a spinach tortilla, then put on a few slices of deli ham, topped with English cucumber that I shaved off with a veggie peeler (rolls up more easily if the cucumber is razor-thin). Then, I rolled it all up and cut it into slices — voila, pinwheels! I threaded two pinwheels each onto two light saber cupcake picks. To fill out the rest of the big compartment, I cut three little hearts out of the frittata from yesterday’s breakfast, then wedged everything in place with some cherry tomatoes.

I lined the smallest compartment with a silicone muffin cup, then filled it with two nutty cereal balls for a treat. The bottom compartment is filled with quartered strawberries and grapes. Yum!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Pinwheels

  1. Looks beautiful and delicious as always. I was just thinking, maybe you could join the Amazon Affiliate program so that your links might give you a bit of a kickback? I have no idea about any of the details of the program, but was just thinking you provide so many links to products that it might work for you!

    Posted by Kelly | January 26, 2012, 9:42 am
    • You know, I’ve been thinking about that myself!!!!! I see that people do click thru to the products (of course, don’t know if they’re buying, but they could be!). I’m going to investigate for sure! Thank you for the compliment and the suggestion. 🙂

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | January 26, 2012, 9:48 am
  2. Delicious looking lunch!! You should definitely sign up for Amazon affiliates. It’s really easy and getting a little something when people click through and buy is a great thing 😀

    Posted by Jenn | January 26, 2012, 10:12 am
  3. I’m always impressed by how well-rounded your bentos are. How do you get your boys to eat all those fruits and veggies?

    Posted by Erin | January 26, 2012, 12:11 pm
    • Thank you, Erin! I lucked out in that they love fruits and veggies (well, they love fruits more than veggies — broccoli, tomatoes, carrots and sweet peppers are always guaranteed to be eaten. Sometimes they welcome beans, but we’re more hit-or-miss with leafy vegetables), so I don’t really have to do much. I just set the veggies in front of them at each meal and hope for the best, and remind them to try them even if they don’t think they’ll like them. Sometimes they gobble them all up; other times, 99% remains on the plate (and that always makes me sad). Jack always eats everything in his bento, though — I think he finds the presentation novel (the other 6 lunches of the week, eaten at home, are not quite as fancy!).

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | January 26, 2012, 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

