Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Bento Box for 1/17/2012

I usually try to think of a cute name for Jack’s weekly bento box, but I ran out of name ideas for this one. It’s a little boring and random, but it’s still kind of visually appealing, and more importantly, it’s filled with healthy foods that I know Jack likes. 🙂 This is packed in an EasyLunchbox. I can’t say enough wonderful things about these lunch containers — they’re easy for kids (and adults who have joint issues) to open, they’re durable and dishwasher-safe, and the lids come in four bright colors. Plus, they can hold enough food for an adult’s lunch, too!

OK, on to Jack’s lunch.

In the large compartment, we’ve got a heart-shaped turkey-on-whole-wheat sandwich. I used a smaller heart-shaped cookie cutter to punch out a hole in the center, which I filled with baby carrots cut lengthwise. Then I just laid the smaller heart sandwich on top. The silicone muffin cup holds a hard-boiled egg molded into a fish shape and decorated with food markers (and again, because I know someone is going to ask, the way the egg mold works is that you boil an egg, peel it under cool running water while it’s still hot, put the warm, peeled egg in the mold, snap the mold closed, and put it in the fridge for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, gently open the mold and remove the egg). I used steamed broccoli to fill in the space around the sandwich and egg.

The compartment on top of the righthand side holds chopped strawberries and apples, with a giraffe pick for easy pickup. The compartment beneath has a small container filled with plain yogurt swirled with homemade strawberry jam that Jack can dip his fruit into. There’s a lid that snaps tightly onto the container (not pictured). My friend Jenn K. picked up a package of these containers (I think it was 6? Or 10?) for $1 at the dollar store — what a great deal! She generously gave me four of them. They are a great size, but it’s amazingly difficult to find small, leakproof containers like this. Thin apple slices fill in the gap around the yogurt container.

Starting next week, I’ll be putting together Valentine’s Day themed bentos. Yay!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Bento Box for 1/17/2012

  1. Great looking lunch! We love our ELB’s too. 🙂

    Posted by Keeley McGuire | January 17, 2012, 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

