Desserts, Meals, Snacks

Strawberry-Banana Smoothie With Soy Milk

The other day, my friend Tracy and I were talking about ways to satisfy a sweet tooth while trying to lose weight, and it reminded me of an easy, delicious smoothie I often turn to when I’m counting calories. It can be a 220-calorie breakfast or lunch (or part of the meal, anyway) or a 110-calorie snack to get you through the afternoon doldrums. It can even be frozen in molds for a refreshing, healthy dessert. I’ve always thought it was too simple to feature on the blog, but after I shared the “recipe” (I use that word lightly because the instructions are so simple!) with Tracy, she urged me to share it. So, here I am!

I got this recipe from another friend, who got it from one of the Skinny Bitch cookbooks. Out of curiosity, I’d borrowed the first Skinny Bitch book from her and concluded that if I were to follow the eating plan outlined in the book, I would indeed be a skinny bitch, emphasis on the latter. šŸ˜‰ I like eating healthy, but totally vegan, 100% organic, gluten-, sugar- and white-flour-free is not for me, not on a long-term basis, anyway (but kudos to those of you who do eat like that!). But, some of the recipes did sound tasty, and the smoothie one my friend sent me is my favorite. It’s a cup of organic, sugar-free soy milk blended with fruit. I had never considered making a smoothie with soy milk before, but if you use the sugar-free kind, soy milk is only 70 or 80 calories for 8 ounces, and it adds a great creaminess to the smoothie. The fruit lends the sweetness, so you end up with a low-calorie, rich-tasting smoothie with plenty of protein. It really is very filling, more so than Jamba Juice smoothies. And, you don’t taste the soy — I suppose, if you’re really looking for it, you can detect a slight nutty flavor, but I think the fruit flavor is what shines through. I guess you could use lowfat milk, but when I’ve tried that, I found the overwhelming dairy flavor to be off-putting. As with most smoothies, you can use whatever fruits you like, but I think frozen strawberries and a banana work best in terms of flavor. If you want, you can also add wheat germ, flaxseed meal or other supplements to your smoothie.

Strawberry-Banana Smoothie With Soy Milk

Makes one 16-oz smoothie

Ingredients

  • One cup (8 oz) of unsweetened, plain soy milk (make sure the carton says “unsweetened” or “no sugar added.” Even plain soy milk is often sweetened; check the ingredients to be sure)
  • One cup of frozen or fresh strawberries (I prefer frozen, but if you use fresh, just add some ice so that the smoothie isn’t too liquidy)
  • One small banana

    Frozen strawberies, a banana and 8 oz of unsweetened plain soy milk = yummy smoothie!

Instructions

Put all the ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

Mmm!

I often have all 16 ounces for a light lunch, accompanied by something small (a piece of whole-grain toast with two teaspoons of peanut butter, or some whole-wheat crackers with thin slices of cheese). I’m serious — it does keep you full for a while. Or, you could have eight ounces for a snack, and serve the rest to your kids (the boys love it!), or pour the excess into ice pop molds for a dessert some other time.

This refreshing, satisfying smoothie won't break your calorie budget

A note about frozen strawberries — I stock up when my grocery store has bags of frozen berries on sale, but I also like to buy fresh strawberries in bulk when the price is right. Then I just rinse them, let them dry on the counter, hull them, put them in gallon-size freezer bags, and freeze them.

Happy slurping!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Strawberry-Banana Smoothie With Soy Milk

  1. Strawberry banana smoothies are one of my new addictions these days šŸ™‚ So tasty and so good for you! For a paleo friendly version I use orange juice instead of soy milk, frozen berries, and frozen sliced banana. I also add gluten free and lactose free protein powder and ground flax seed for an extra nutritional kick! Yum yum yum!

    Posted by Nicole | January 16, 2012, 8:16 am
  2. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Posted by sweetopiagirl | January 17, 2012, 8:46 pm
  3. Very Delicious!

    Posted by Marissa Martin | June 11, 2014, 3:37 pm
  4. Hi, I am lactose intolerant and I want to gain weight but I have trouble eating, so I am trying to make smoothies instead so that they are easy to take. I would like to ask if this smoothie can be a meal replacement or is it not enough?

    Posted by Rein David | August 9, 2014, 4:25 am
    • It depends on how many meals you’re eating in a day. This smoothie by itself is not very high in calories, but if you added oats, protein powder, flax seed, etc., it could become a meal replacement. Or, you could use it as a small meal (say, one of five or six meals in a day). You could also try a smoothie with soy milk, peanut butter, and a frozen banana. That’s MUCH higher in calories.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | August 28, 2014, 12:29 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 19 Delicious Smoothies Under 300 Calories | Daily Healthy Tips - July 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

