Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Frosty the Snowman

For this year’s last Christmas-themed school lunch (starting next Monday, Jack’s on winter break from preschool for two weeks), I made a snowman-themed bento box. We promised Jack that we would drive to Big Bear so he could see snow sometime during the break, and since then, he’s been talking nonstop about how he’s going to build a snowman. I predict he’ll be pretty excited when he opens his lunch today! This was packed in an EasyLunchbox.

In the big compartment, there’s a snowman-shaped ham and cheese sandwich, decorated with food markers. The pretzels under him are supposed to look like the ground, the mozzarella cheese cubes (just one cut-up cheese stick) are supposed to be snow, and the blueberries are the sky. I know it’s a bit dark to really look like the sky, but, well, maybe it’s just about to storm or something. 😉 The upper right hand compartment has a hardboiled egg molded to look like a car*, with baby carrots surrounding it. I guess that’s not really on theme, unless you think of it as representing how we’ll drive to see the snow. Clever, eh? Finally, the lower righthand compartment is filled with 12 grape tomatoes, topped with a candy cane-shaped piece of swiss cheese that’s been decorated with a red food marker.

*Every time I show a molded hardboiled egg, someone asks me how it’s made. First, you boil an egg. Then, while it’s still hot, peel it under cool water (to avoid burning your fingers). Immediately put the whole peeled egg in the egg mold, snap the mold closed, and put it in the fridge for 10 minutes. Then, gently open the mold, and voila! You have a shaped hard-boiled egg.

Happy last week of school for those of you with kids. 🙂 I hope everyone has fun plans for winter break!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Frosty the Snowman

  1. Adorable 🙂

    Posted by Keeley McGuire | December 13, 2011, 7:41 am
  2. omg-you are super mommy! this is awesome. love your blog, beverly–so glad i found it! check out mine if you have a few minutes 🙂 http://www.thesparklylife.com/

    Posted by Alyssa | December 13, 2011, 7:52 am
  3. Thanks for posting about the egg mold. i have them on my christmas wish list 🙂

    Posted by Lauren | December 13, 2011, 9:25 am
  4. Every time someone explains the simplicity of egg molds, I think, “but I can’t peel a hot egg without it being ripped to shreds!”

    But I’m okay with that, I guess. I have my own talents. I love seeing your creativity. I hope you don’t get a blueberry-sky worthy storm, though!

    Posted by The Student | December 17, 2011, 7:17 am

Leave a Reply

