Holidays

Edible Gifts Round-Up: Gift Baskets!

So the reason I’ve been publishing a torrent of edible gift posts is because, for most parents, the last day of preschool before winter break is Friday, December 16, and I wanted to give people plenty of time to consider ideas, purchase ingredients and make the gifts. After a whirlwind of making all the goodies and assembling a few baskets for pictures (don’t worry, the treats and baskets all went to happy homes; it turned out that I had some early gift-giving opportunities!), I’m now able to show you some samples!

The basket above, which I gave to the awesome babysitter we often call when we go out on weekends/evenings, is similar to what I’m going to give Jack’s preschool teachers next week. It holds (click on the links below to go to that entry):

You can vary the number of items in the basket, but I think typically, two bags of cocoa mix, two spoons, a big treat bag of the pretzel treats, a mini loaf of banana or pumpkin bread, and four to six cake pops make a nice, full basket. The actual baskets for Jack’s teachers will also have a mug (I’ll position the hot cocoa mix bags in the mug). Johnny also requested that I make one for him to give to a couple of people at work (who have historically enjoyed the stuff I bake and have Johnny take in to the office).

This basket above is a smaller version of “the works” one. It has everything except the bread. I can’t really give a good reason for making baskets without the bread except that I was too lazy to make two batches of bread! This version went to the wonderful ladies in my mommy’s group. I look forward to seeing them and their kids each week, and each of them has been so helpful to me. Every mom needs friends like them!

And, I don’t have a picture of it, but I’m also going to create several mini baskets, each with one or two hot cocoa mix bags and spoons, a small sack of pretzel treats, and four cake pops. The mini ones work well for neighbors (unless you’re good friends with them, in which case, it’d probably be better to upgrade to a big or medium basket!), the moms you’re friendly with at preschool dropoff and other acquaintances/casual friends. I’m giving a mini basket to each of my tutoring students, too.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, putting the Saucy Mommy URL on the labels was Johnny’s idea! At first, I thought it was obnoxious, but then my playgroup friends agreed with him, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. Hey, I guess if it brings more traffic, I’m all for it! Also, next year, I’ll do up a purely savory treat and include that as well, so it’s less of a “sugar high basket.” 😉

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

One thought on “Edible Gifts Round-Up: Gift Baskets!

  1. Looks amazing! Your giftees are lucky people.

    Posted by Samantha | December 9, 2011, 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

