Bentos, Holidays

Let’s Do Lunch: Reindeer Games

Continuing with the Christmas-themed lunches, I made Jack a reindeer lunch for this week (he stays at preschool for lunch once a week). My friend Jenn mentioned last week that her mom used to make her reindeer PB&Js, with pretzel antlers, raisin eyes and maraschino cherry noses. It inspired me to make reindeer sandwich balls. (Thanks, Jenn and Jenn’s mom! :)) This was packed in an EasyLunchbox.

The sandwich balls, set atop baby spinach leaves, are filled with peanut butter and grape jelly. I broke pretzel twists in half and stuck them in the sides to form antlers. The eyes are golden raisins (unfortunately, I didn’t have regular raisins; they would have worked better as eyes!), “glued” onto the bread with a little bit of peanut butter. The top two reindeer’s noses and mouths are drawn on with food marker, while Rudolph’s nose is a red M&M, adhered with peanut butter. I know the top left reindeer has seen better days, but I wasn’t about to make a whole new one. I guess he’s the one who’s always overworked. 😉 I used mandarin orange wedges to lodge the reindeer sandwiches firmly in the compartment (I was able to use the whole orange; woo-hoo!).

The top left compartment has granny smith apple chunks topped with a gala apple slice cut into a candy cane shape. The bottom left compartment has salami rounds (folded into fourths) and cheddar cheese chunks (I just cut up a cheese stick) threaded onto Christmas-themed cupcake picks.

I’m kind of bummed that there’s only one more week to go before Jack’s preschool is on winter break because a) I’ve gotten used to only having one little boy around from 9 a.m. to noon five days a week! and b) that means an end to the holiday-themed bentos! One of my friends (hi, Julie!) used Babybel cheeses as “tree stands” for her Christmas tree-shaped sandwiches last week, and I really want to try that … along with about a million other ideas. Oh, well, there’s always next year, and I can always do cute lunch plates at home. 🙂

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Reindeer Games

  1. Love the picks & reindeer sandwich balls! 🙂
    Great idea with the candy cane shaped apple too!!

    Posted by Keeley McGuire | December 7, 2011, 6:20 am
  2. I can not wait for Joshua to be old enough to appreciate something like this!! Madi is too old, Joshua not old enough..le sigh. But they are cute and so crafty my dear!

    Posted by Donna | December 7, 2011, 7:16 am
  3. Yay, love it! They are adorable, even the overworked one. 😉

    Posted by Jennifer Harsany Simpson | December 7, 2011, 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

