Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Oh, Christmas Tree

I got a few Christmas-themed cookie cutters on sale at Michael’s a while ago, and now that Thanksgiving’s behind us, I can finally break them out! Believe me, it took some self-restraint (which I lack, along with patience ;)). Jack’s eagerly anticipating the purchase of a Christmas tree, so I made that the theme of his lunch today, packed in a two-tiered box:

In the bottom layer of the box, there is a stack of three pieces of Trader Joe’s naan cut into Christmas tree shapes. I got the idea to use naan from the Wendolonia blog — Johnny and I love TJ’s naan, but it never occurred to me to use it for Jack’s lunches. Thanks, Wendy! The bottom two pieces aren’t perfect, so as to minimize scraps. I decorated only the top tree with green and brown food markers, and just a few Christmas-themed nonpareils as ornaments. I cut the tiny star out of a mini yellow bell pepper and affixed it to the naan with a dab of softened cream cheese. So that Jack can make his own sandwiches, I put two silicone muffin cups in the box and filled them with ham and cheese strips. Cherry tomatoes and the leftover mini bell pepper (cut into little chunks) fill in the empty holes around the tree.

The top tier has Tuscan melon balls (Tuscan melon is very similar to cantaloupe). I cut three candy cane shapes out of slices of Asian pear and laid them on top of the melon. Originally, I had planned to draw red stripes on the pears, but they’re too juicy for the color to hold. Then, I had the brilliant (I mean that sarcastically) idea to use the nonpareils instead to make stripes on the candy canes, but a) it was difficult to get them aligned, and b) the juice of the pears caused the color to run. So I quickly abandoned that effort, but decided to put the one decorated one in the box anyway. Finally, I included an animal pick so Jack can pick up the fruit without using his fingers.

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Let’s Do Lunch: Oh, Christmas Tree

  1. LOVE it 🙂 Love the Christmas theme, love TJ’s naan, love that the elements are there for Jack to make his own sandwiches (Hannah likes Lunchables but I’m sure it’s much more cost-effective to do it this way) and I love the candy canes! I really like the one with nonpareils…I think it looks really cool that the colors ran!

    Posted by Shelly | November 29, 2011, 6:35 am
  2. You are so awesome. I wish you were my mom! 🙂

    Posted by Donna | November 29, 2011, 7:26 am
  3. Love it Beverly! You have inspired ne so this week I’m making Christmas themed snack box for Gracie on Thursday which is “healthy snack day” at her school- I’m using just a basic storage food container with dividers but would love to find some cute girlie bento boxes- any idea where I could purchase? The ones at Old Navy are more boyish.

    Posted by Julie K | November 29, 2011, 9:13 am
    • Hmm…earlier in the fall, there was a ladybug one at Old Navy; so cute but now sold out!! 😦 You could try looking on Amazon or on these 2 sites: jlist.com and allthingsforsale.com. Great selection and service. Or, potterybarnkids.com has a wonderful bento box (in their Spencer line). There’s a pink one. It’s pretty big, though. One of my friends loves it and uses it to hold her son’s lunch and snack for school.

      Posted by Saucy Mommy | November 29, 2011, 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

