Bentos

Let’s Do Lunch: Thanksgiving Travel-Themed Bento

Jack’s super excited about our upcoming trip to Texas for Thanksgiving, so I made him a Thanksgiving travel-themed lunch for tomorrow. It’s not one of my best ones (I’ve got so much to pull together before we leave, and I have to meet some deadlines for stuff that I promised my tutoring students), but it’s still fun.

This is packed in my trusty EasyLunchbox. In the main compartment, we have ham sandwiches shaped with an airplane cookie cutter, a tiny acorn cutter, and a little boy cookie cutter. I decorated the sandwiches with food markers. In case you can’t tell, the plane says “Air Jack” on it (it’s hard to write on bread!), and the little boy is wearing jeans and an orange-and-brown striped T-shirt, in honor of one of Jack’s favorite outfits. There’s also a hard-boiled egg molded into a car shape (in a silicone muffin cup). I filled in the empty spaces with cherry tomatoes.

In the upper right hand compartment, I arranged wedges from half a clementine orange (Derek eagerly gobbled up the other half), and topped the wedges with two fall leaf shapes cut from one apple slice with these cutters. For a treat, the lower right hand compartment contains graham cracker sections sandwiched with cream cheese and strawberry jelly. Yum!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

