Desserts, Snacks

A Different Kind of Caramel Apple

This probably comes as no surprise, given my love of cute food presentation, but I’m a sucker for anything in an edible bowl. Even if I have no intention of actually eating the bowl, just the idea that it’s edible sends me into paroxysms of delight. I’m that person who pays a dollar extra for chowder in a bread bowl — yes, I know, I should really get out of the house more. Anyway, a photo of a caramel-filled apple on Pinterest the other day (thank you for pinning it, Lana!) grabbed my attention. It’s easy, doesn’t take much time, and it’s super adorable. Since it’s the weekend, I thought I’d make it as a special dessert for the kids.

Ingredients

  • An apple to use as the bowl – I like Granny Smith because the green looks nice with the caramel. I think a small- to medium-sized apple works best as the bowl
  • Two (or more) apples, cut into slices for dipping
  • Caramel dip – I bought the dip in a tub that they sell near the apples at the grocery store, just so I wouldn’t have to worry about the caramel congealing and needing to be reheated, but you could also easily make your own caramel dip (I think this one would be delicious)

Instructions

Slice the top off of the “bowl apple.” I would slice about a third of the way down from the top, so that the stem stays intact. Then, using a melon baller or spoon with a sharp edge, scoop out the center of the apple.

Use a melon baller to scoop the interior from the apple

After you’re satisfied with the size of the interior, use a small paring knife to smooth the top inside rim of the apple. As you can see, I haven’t done a very good job of smoothing the rim of the “bowl,” but you all know by now that fine handiwork is not my forte! 😉

You can use a paring knife to smooth the top inside rim of the "bowl"

If you’re concerned about the apple browning (for instance, if you’re making this to serve at a party), brush the exposed part of the rim with some lemon juice. Fill the bowl with caramel dip and place the bowl on a plate. for kicks, place the top of the apple jauntily over part of the bowl.Slice the remaining apples and arrange them around the apple bowl. Again, if you want to prevent the slices from browning, brush them with lemon juice. But, I predict these will go too fast for oxidation to be a concern! You may have to duke it out for who gets to eat the empty bowl.

Enjoy!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Caramel Apple

  1. so cute!

    Posted by staci | November 18, 2011, 9:15 pm
  2. LOVE it!

    Posted by chamelion | November 21, 2011, 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

