Meals

Gobble, Gobble: Whimsical Quesadilla Lunch

Yesterday, I saw this adorable Thanksgiving-themed bento featured on the Easylunchboxes Facebook page, and I couldn’t resist copying it. I didn’t see this in time for Jack’s weekly at-school lunch day, and we’re traveling most of next week, so I just made a plated version. Cute, right? (If I do say so myself!)

The “turkey body” is a quesadilla. I cut two circles out of a tortilla with a clean jar lid, placed the circles in a lightly greased pan over low/medium heat, and melted shredded Mexican cheese on top of each circle. When the cheese was melted, I put the two circles together, cheesy sides touching, of course. The “head” of the turkey is a bit of tortilla cut with kitchen shears. The eyes are dried blueberries, the beak is a piece of cheese cut into a triangle shape, and the wattle is cut from a fruit roll-up. The turkey’s “feathers” are strips of red and yellow bell pepper.

Jack and Derek were tickled by the turkey … at first, they were too busy making gobbling noises and arguing about whether turkeys could fly (Derek: “Fly, turkey, fly!” Jack: “Turkeys don’t fly, silly!” Derek: “Yes, they FLY!”) to eat. But, once I settled the argument (“Guys, real turkeys can’t fly, but these ones can fly … INTO YOUR BELLIES!” Whatever, they’re two and four — still easy to please), they tucked into their quesadillas and finished every morsel. What a great, easy way to gear up for Thanksgiving!

About Saucy Mommy

I'm Beverly, a mom of two who loves to cook and write. Check out my blog at www.saucymommy.com for family-friendly (but tasty) meal ideas and pictures of bento box lunches.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

